Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2009, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned

oldscoob - '87 subaru wagon gl/dr
90 day: 47.06 mpg (US)
self 12v electroplating car and two decades

Cars rust. to claim newer doesn't, well, you haven't seen 20 years yet.

I found something interesting. I have been running the same models for 12 years, its an old sube.
23 years this month. I do alot of welding, I mean a freakish amount. It would take a day to decipher how much I have welded.

I found in the winter, if the battery isn't packed correctly, around the steel brackets that hold it in, and the bottom, a substance builds up. not on the posts, but on the steel brackets.

its a bit salt, and definately a metal, maybe calcium ... and it loves to appear after snow storms...and the bracket has gotten thicker. it is not the same guage as when it began.
I found anything with rivets gets very very tight and stays there, usually inspecting in the summer I find these things... something extra is building on them. Welds at 60k psi, aren't the same size glob I welded..they shrunk...

Where Is It going? How does solid steel "flow"?

The icing on the cake was finding the welding wire material, on a unpainted spot under the middle of the car. I didn't weld there, how did it get there....it perfectly filled in a small unpainted spot, shiny as the weld wire...

I concluded, it is self electroplating in nature.

by its own battery, salty maine snow storm (especially), flux in the weld wire to be a strong enough acid for the cathode anode part of the process... to linger for months and years afterward apparently.

I got a laugh out of it. I learned years ago, the welds will look like they disappeared if less than a .25 inch bead, a mechanic told me this...I never got an explanation until the internet. Underneath all the protective coatings...the steel is alive.