Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2013, 07:11 AM   #81 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 114
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by t vago View Post
What hardware are you using?
Thanks for the update. I'm attempting to run an old Fundamental Logic board upgraded with a 328.

  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ardent For This Useful Post:
t vago (09-27-2013)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-27-2013, 07:13 AM   #82 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 114
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrzejM View Post
One suggestion for you, maybe worth to consider in a next version of your code. I was changing the "Canadian" version of MPGuino, and I've embeded the code for coast down tests. Up and down speeds are edited with global parameters, and when I go to the proper screen it's showing the exact time and distance that car was coasting from one given speed to the other. It's very accurate and much more convinient than reading time and distance from your speedo and a stop watch.
That would be cool!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 07:40 AM   #83 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 114
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
mpguino_1.86_tav.c loaded and appears to be working OK on the bench.

Had one minor issue while entering initial parameters: Sometimes pressing one button would trigger the function of one of the other buttons, such as the right button would cause the value to increment instead of moving the cursor. Could be my shady old hardware and/or user error though.
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ardent For This Useful Post:
t vago (09-27-2013)
Old 09-27-2013, 07:43 AM   #84 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
AndrzejM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 840

Berta - '97 BMW 318 tds Compact
90 day: 62.03 mpg (US)

Charlie - '07 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso Exclusive
90 day: 37.58 mpg (US)

Corsa - '05 Opel Corsa C
90 day: 53.22 mpg (US)

Mruczek - '03 Audi A2
90 day: 60.61 mpg (US)
Thanks: 185
Thanked 167 Times in 117 Posts
I had similar issue once and it turned out that was a faulty ground connection at the buttons. You may want to check yours
__________________


Quote:
Gerhard Plattner: "The best attitude is to consider fuel saving a kind of sport. Everybody who has enough money for a strong car, can drive fast and hit the pedal. But saving fuel requires concentration, self-control and cleverness. It's a challenge with the nice effect of saving you money that you can use for other more important things."
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 09:15 AM   #85 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 114
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
That is possible, but not observed with the 0.86 code.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 09:31 AM   #86 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 114
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
Also, when waking the unit from sleep-mode by pressing the LEFT, RIGHT or CENTER button, "Current Reset" is displayed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 09:33 AM   #87 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 114
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 38 Posts
Here are some backlight code changes I like: (items need to be placed in their proper locations)

Code:
//Backlight range changes
const uint8_t brightness[] PROGMEM = { 0, 85, 170, 255 }; //middle button cycles through these brightness settings
//Changed 0 to 3 for OFF while sleeping
LCD::setBright(3); // set backlight brightness to zero
//Initial brightness
uint8_t brightnessIdx = 2;  //brightness at startup. 2 = LOW
//Descriptive brightness labels
void doNextBright(void) {
	brightnessIdx++;
	if (brightnessIdx >= brightnessLength) brightnessIdx = 0;
	LCD::setBright(brightnessIdx);
	printFlash(PSTR("Backlight = "));
   if (brightnessIdx == 0) {
     printFlash(PSTR("HIGH"));
   } else if (brightnessIdx == 1) {
     printFlash(PSTR(" MED"));
   } else if (brightnessIdx == 2) {
     printFlash(PSTR(" LOW"));
   } else if (brightnessIdx == 3) {
     printFlash(PSTR(" OFF"));
   }
   gotoXY(0, 1);
	printFlash(PSTR("                "));
	holdDisplay = holdDelay;
}
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ardent For This Useful Post:
t vago (09-27-2013)
Old 09-27-2013, 09:39 AM   #88 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
AndrzejM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 840

Berta - '97 BMW 318 tds Compact
90 day: 62.03 mpg (US)

Charlie - '07 Citroen C4 Grand Picasso Exclusive
90 day: 37.58 mpg (US)

Corsa - '05 Opel Corsa C
90 day: 53.22 mpg (US)

Mruczek - '03 Audi A2
90 day: 60.61 mpg (US)
Thanks: 185
Thanked 167 Times in 117 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ardent View Post
That is possible, but not observed with the 0.86 code.
I think you should try to A-B-A test that
__________________


Quote:
Gerhard Plattner: "The best attitude is to consider fuel saving a kind of sport. Everybody who has enough money for a strong car, can drive fast and hit the pedal. But saving fuel requires concentration, self-control and cleverness. It's a challenge with the nice effect of saving you money that you can use for other more important things."
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:27 AM   #89 (permalink)
MPGuino Supporter
 
t vago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,807

iNXS - '10 Opel Zafira 111 Anniversary

Suzi - '02 Suzuki Swift GL
Thanks: 828
Thanked 708 Times in 456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ardent View Post
mpguino_1.86_tav.c loaded and appears to be working OK on the bench.
Good to hear!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ardent View Post
Had one minor issue while entering initial parameters: Sometimes pressing one button would trigger the function of one of the other buttons, such as the right button would cause the value to increment instead of moving the cursor.
Interesting. Are you using the traditional button setup, or are you using analog buttons?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ardent View Post
Could be my shady old hardware and/or user error though.
... No... I've seen that, too, every once in a while, but only when I used analog buttons. I figured that it would eventually be identified through testing. It could either be the analog button code, or it could be the choice selection code change that more easily enables support for more than 3 buttons at a time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 11:29 AM   #90 (permalink)
MPGuino Supporter
 
t vago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 1,807

iNXS - '10 Opel Zafira 111 Anniversary

Suzi - '02 Suzuki Swift GL
Thanks: 828
Thanked 708 Times in 456 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrzejM View Post
t_vago - you've done a tremendous job to upgrade MPGuino's software.
Thank you very much. Looking forward to your help with this code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrzejM View Post
One suggestion for you, maybe worth to consider in a next version of your code. I was changing the "Canadian" version of MPGuino, and I've embeded the code for coast down tests. Up and down speeds are edited with global parameters, and when I go to the proper screen it's showing the exact time and distance that car was coasting from one given speed to the other. It's very accurate and much more convinient than reading time and distance from your speedo and a stop watch.
You got coastdown testing to work? That would be cool!

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com