Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2011, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 245
Thanks: 111
Thanked 159 Times in 63 Posts
telltales

Does anybody know where I can buy telltale strips for testing air flow? I just put a camera system on my Saturn and I'd like to install some telltales on various sections to see how I'm doing aerodynamically. I suppose you could make them but I'd rather spend my time building and testing. Thanks.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 05-15-2011, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
MIT (Modder In Training)
 
JohnS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 15

FuguMobile - '01 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 24.89 mpg (US)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Orby...

The experienced EM-ers here tend to go with the most cost-effective means to get the job done. All the aero testing I've seen done has been with small strips/tufts of yarn and a bit of tape. Thus the term "tuft testing". I think that's all you really need to get what you're looking for.

Hope that helps.

John
__________________
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JohnS For This Useful Post:
orbywan (05-16-2011)
Old 05-15-2011, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
piers.singer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sussex/Kent, UK
Posts: 108
Thanks: 4
Thanked 23 Times in 12 Posts
I like the way that Craig Vetter does it - lay yarn over a cutting board with tape square on top. Cut yarn et voilą! your own tuft strips.
__________________
Spoken like a champion. Oh no, disaster!
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to piers.singer For This Useful Post:
Cd (03-01-2012)
Old 05-16-2011, 10:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 245
Thanks: 111
Thanked 159 Times in 63 Posts
Well, if it's not readily available pre-made, I guess it's time to get out the yarn. Darn. Thanks for the tip.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 228
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts
if a craft store has latchhook yarn, it's precut into maybe 2 or 3 inch pieces. i remember my little sister having one of those kits.

  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bill in Houston For This Useful Post:
orbywan (05-16-2011)
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com