Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2015, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

My "new" 05 focus ZX3

For the last 6 months or so, I have been throwing around the idea of getting a replacement work vehicle. I am a field engineer and drive a lot. About 50K in my first year in the field.

My trusty 09 Sonata 5 speed 4 cylinder was still getting the job done, but I wanted something that would get the same or better mileage, 32+ and have room enough for me to carry my 29er mountainbike AND tools/parts.

I gave serious thought to a TDI, preferably a jetta wagon, but, with the price differential, made even more so, with the drops in fuel prices, I kind of figured a TDI wouldn't make $$$ sense. So, I started looking real hard at foci. I was most interested in the wagons, but, was having trouble finding one without rust issues. Last week I found an 05 ZX3 5 speed with 82K. asking 2750. Rebuilt title.

I wnt and checked it out, expecting to find some sort of evidence of a hard hit somewhere underneath. I could find none. And underneath it was 100% rust free. Took it for a ride. Steers/brakes like a new car. Outside looks very good, I'd say a 8.5/10. A few dings, light scratches. Very nice black paint.

I ran a carfax and found that it was totaled in MD in 2009 with 52K. The value then had to be reasonably high, so something happened. But, I will be damned if I can find anything. Someone at focusfanatics.com said sounds like flood damage, run away. I thought about it for a bit, how well it drove/looked, the complete lack of rust and decided fuggit, I'm gonna take my chances.