Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2011, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
VSS Correct, however mileage wrong.

Hi there guys,

I have already managed to calibrate the speed in accordance to my vehicle however the mileage is wrong in MPGuino.

I build my own PCB mpguino, however I used a 20Mhz crystal instead of 16mhz.

Is this the reason why my mileage is wrong in mpguino?

My ATMega328 was bootloaded on Duemilanove, and I saw the crystal on it was 16Mhz.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-02-2011, 12:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ohyeah, One more issue.

What is Current, Tank and Instant?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 65
Thanks: 6
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Greetings. Are you saying the miles displayed on the MgGuino do not match the actual miles driven or are you saying the miles per gallon are wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 03:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am using the canadian metric version version 0.81. It shows the vechicle speed as well as the mileage. However both doesn't tally. When the speed is correct, the mileage is wrong. When the mileage is correct, the speed is wrong.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 03:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 65
Thanks: 6
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
I am just another user but I can imagine the different clock speed could change the speed readout. As you probably know, miles or kilometers per gallon would be based on distance so and not speed so I think that is most important. Instant means mpg/kpg (liter) at that point in time, Current is mpg/kpg achieved on the current trip (you can change how many seconds it takes to reset the current trip if the engine has been switched off). Tank is mph/kpg since you last filled the tank. You can reset Current trip by pressing the center and the right button together and reset Tank by pressing center and left buttons together. By the way, pressing the right button step through the menus one direction and the left button steps through the menus in the opposite direction. These are just some things it took me a while to figure out. Norm
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 09:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Great! Thank you.

I might try a different clock speed to see if I can get the same speed readout.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
gtkid2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA - WA
Posts: 110

The Bug - '69 Volkswagen Bug Base
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Really hate ressurecting a really long dead thread, but I'm having the exact same issue, except I'm using the proper clock chip.

I can either have my speed horribly fast at vss count of 8305, or have it be accurate at somewhere around 13000. It's an 04 Honda Civic. I know I have the wires right, and I know that the car is reading accurate speeds (I know when I'm doing 90mph, and when I'm doing 65 ).

So, any ideas on where I should be looking?
__________________
I suck at coding! Woo!

1969 VW Bug - Daily Driver
1975 VW Baja - Current Project
Priors:
1989 Honda Prelude Si 4WS (RIP)
1995 Honda Prelude Si (Traded)
1980 Fiat Spider 2000 (Sold)
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: terra firma
Posts: 138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
I'm not sure if the question was ever answered: "What values are you looking at?"

If speed and odo-distance are accurate, then your VSS & config are good.
If only speed OR odo is good, and the other bad, then i guess the crystal MHZ could be a factor, but only if the values are wrong by 25%.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com