Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2011, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Pooparu - '01 Subaru Outback Limited
90 day: 28.12 mpg (US)

Cop Car - '94 Chevy Caprice Interceptor 9C1
Last 3: 18.48 mpg (US)

Mini - '11 Mini Cooper
90 day: 37.63 mpg (US)

Gramps - '95 Subaru Legacy Postal
90 day: 23.18 mpg (US)
Aluminium Casting

Are there any fellow eco-modders out there that have experience with DIY / Home Brew aluminium casting? There are projects I want to work on, but it requires custom/one off housings and brackets.

I have some metallurgical experience from an iron foundry along with pattern layouts for the sprues and risers. Also involved with projects on the refractories relining, and sand testing for casting quality. But it was all ductile iron and aluminium. I did have a chance for Brass/Aluminium metal casting in a high school metal shop but my project did not utilize the furnace. I'm only looking at a few cubic inches of cast aluminium so I wouldn't be near more than a small crucible (1 liter-ish to half gallon-ish).

If anyone has any tips, directions, other DIY sites I would love the info!

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 01-23-2011, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Geo XL1 - '94 Geo Metro
Team Metro
Boat tails and more mods
90 day: 72.22 mpg (US)

Big, Bad & Flat - '01 Dodge Ram 3500 SLT
Team Cummins
90 day: 21.13 mpg (US)
Thanked 1,353 Times in 711 Posts

Google "backyard casting"

>
Old 01-23-2011, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Mini - '11 Mini Cooper