Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2013, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Oh Deer - '03 Ford Ranger XL
90 day: 33.97 mpg (US)
ScanGauge or MPGuino

Hello,

I'm sure this has been asked before but a search here and on Google only turns up limited information. I am just trying to check myself on the info I have read.

I have a '97 Ford Ranger 2.3l 5sp manual. It seems that the ScanGauge does not work with this truck. I am only looking to have an instant mpg and average mpg readout. I assume that this is because there is some sensor or other input missing from this truck.

The MPGuino looks like it is a bit above my "skill set" as I would prefer something that is more plug and play.

I have thought about installing a vacuum gauge, but I thought I had read somewhere that they can be a bit unreliable. I am no mechanic so I don't really know if this is true or not and probably don't have the skills to get this done either.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I could use to get the instant and average read-outs I am looking for?

Thanks

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-10-2013, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

A vacuum gauge will not tell you average MPG. It won't really tell you instant MPG either, but it will tell you how hard you are asking your engine to work at any given moment, which at least tells you "using more fuel" or "using less fuel".

The Scangauge isn't an option in your case.

The only option for you seems to be the MPGuino. If you have a buddy who tinkers with electronics, he can help you build it. Or you might be able to buy one that is already built. (Maybe post a WTB ad in the Instrumentation forum?) But you would still have to find and tap into the fuel injector signal wire and vehicle speed wire.

-soD
Old 03-10-2013, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
OCD Master EcoModder