Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2009, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hydrogen Nut

Smart Car ForTwo Pure - '08 Smart Fortwo Pure stripped
90 day: 51.35 mpg (US)

BMW 750iL V12 - '90 BMW V12
90 day: 26.4 mpg (US)

Wildfire 250C - '08 Shandong Pioneer 250C
Hypermiling techniques that are invalid (potential mechanical wear/cost)

As a mechanic, I avoid techniques that trade small mileage gains for larger mechanical repair bills or other costs. Mileage savings that increase the costs of maintenance have to take those external expenses into account to be valid. It is possible to make great savings in fuel without doing damage to a vehicle's powertrain - but it takes some knowledge.

EXAMPLES

John, an accountant, began adding hypermiling techniques to his daily driving. Soon he was saving a significant amount of money on gas and began telling all his friends how great hypermiling was.

TIRES: Some cars will wear tires unevenly if overinflated. (The heavier a car is, the more likely this is to occur.) If you hypermile with overinflated tires and they wear out faster than a set with manufacturer-recommended inflation, it is de rigueur to account for that expense in your mileage calculations to present a valid result.

John got 20,000 miles out of his last set of Goodyears. When he started hypermiling on the next set, filled to maximum sidewall inflation, the center bead wore down at 15,000. Since his tires cost $600 to replace and he received 25% less use from them, his hypermiling cost an additional $150 over 15,000 miles. John calculated his fuel savings over the last 15,000 miles and subtracted $150.

MANUAL TRANSMISSION
Throw-out bearings aren't designed for long periods of operation. Lacking any provision for cooling, they can heat up, loose lubricant and fail.