Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Success Stories
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

gueff - '19 Mercedes Benz A250 4MATIC AMG
90 day: 30.55 mpg (US)
my failure story?

I did not see a thread for failure stories so here is mine:
First of all if you want to skip a short background story skip to second paragraph
Few years ago (2008) i graduated from college and bought my first car (impreza). car was/is very nice with no problems and has gotten me home through the worst winter storms and plus have had lots of fun messing and modding it. throughout my ownership i fell in love with engines, transmissions, exhausts, pulleys, belts, flywheels and all the other nuts and bolts. so with this i started to really get into auto world by reading perhaps 400-500 articles so far on various car parts and auto techs. After i became an internet engineer, i started to actually use my hands: fluid changes, brakes, shock/struts, ECU flashing, diagnosing, engine builds (had a friend help) and various other works. I can say that my car is perhaps my biggest hobby after golf lol. anyway long story short, i recently focused on solving my horrendous fuel economy problem. i was only averaging 21mpg around town and about 17mpg in harsh winter conditions. My Father achieves the same numbers with a turbocharged engine making 70 more horses and carrying 1000lbs more weight. I thought the mods might have something to do with it but it turned out it was NOT the modes. It's the car and maybe the way i drive?