Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2011, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

'91 CRX - '91 Honda CRX DX
90 day: 34.91 mpg (US)
MPGuino shield: Fork? V2?

Hey folks.

I've been following the development of the MPGuino for a while now. It's a great little device, but I've had some complaints about the hardware and software design (what can I say? I'm an engineer ^_^). Since the software end only seems to be getting worse IMO (no arduino boot loader at all?), I thought I would take a crack at making a new version of both the hardware and software that incorporates some of the suggestions made here and is fully compatible with the current Arduino IDE.

So far, the hardware is functional in the form of a Freeduino through-hole solder kit board with '328 controller, a protoboard with a standard 16-pin character display connector (PWM backlight, potentiometer contrast), a 16x2 character display (which can be swapped out for other colors, larger character count, etc.), optoisolated injector and VSS inputs (no more playing with voltage divider resistors), four control buttons that use a voltage divider setup to occupy just one analog input pin, and an I2C port. I put an I2C EEPROM on the protoboard as well for the sake of trip logging, but I'm not that far along yet in the software department. That leaves digital pins 0, 1, 9 and 10 open, as well as analog pins 1, 2 and 3 for any future additions (temperature sensor(s), a pitot tube air speed sensor, automatic display dimming via a light sensor, whatever). Really, the sky is the limit if you consider the I2C bus. Since this is all mounted on a shield and Arduino compatible, its easy to swap in different hardware (such as a Mega board) if your development needs require it (driving a parallel graphic LCD or whatever).