Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Civic VX won't restart after coasting with engine off...

So, I've got a 93 Civic VX. I just did a tune up, I've only had it for about 1000 miles of driving. I am also an auto shop teacher, so I have a pretty good knowledge of cars, engines, and diagnostics, but this one is stumping me so far....

Pretty simple... I try coasting with engine off on the downhills of my 75 mile (one way) commute to work. I compression start the engine to get it going. I've done this all the time with my old/other cars. I've done this with 90% success with the VX, but on multiple occasions it has just not wanted to restart. It has occurred on long coasts (down a moutnain pass) as well as a short one (an off ramp). Of the 3 times it has happened, twice it started after a few seconds of being stubborn. The other two times I had to pull over and continue trying to start it with no luck until all of the studden it worked.

The X factor here for me is lean burn mode... I don't know a ton about it, so I am wondering if it could be related. Otherwise, any ideas?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 10-29-2012, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Batman Junior

Blackfly - '98 Geo Metro
Team Metro
Last 3: 70.09 mpg (US)

MPGiata - '90 Mazda Miata
90 day: 52.71 mpg (US)

Even Fancier Metro - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage top spec
90 day: 70.75 mpg (US)

Appliance car - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage ES (base)
90 day: 60.16 mpg (US)
Thanked 6,957 Times in 3,602 Posts
I'm betting you've got some other gremlin - don't think it's related to having the engine off with the car in motion.

Fuel pump relay? Famous for having intermittent problems when they start to go in some Hondas.
Ecodriving test: Manual vs. automatic transmission MPG showdown

EcoModder