Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2009, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Send a message via AIM to pumafeet10
I think its time to start my aero journey!

My project vehicle is my DD, its a 2000 Honda Civic CX, not much to look at right now but hopefully I can put my crazy ideas to work!

I have been hypermiling for about 2 years and have gotten some decent results

Right now i am averaging about 66 mpg with a mix of city and highway driving.

I have been using any and all techniques to get my mileage as high as possible, including eoc'ing, p & g, 70psi in my tires, removed side mirrors, carbon hood, complete upper and lower grille block, interior rear of front seats removed and all rear sound deadening and spare removed

The car is pretty bare bones with no ac or ps, so as we all know this is really the perfect car to Hypermile!

The car is cosmetically kind of rough so I thought what better thing to do then make it more aero at the same time.

A couple years ago i bought a Cwest fromt bumper off of ebay, thought at the time the jdm thing would be really cool man, dur well i got it for a good deal and realized if was fiberglass and that I could modify it to close off all of the openings.

Well after that I thought if just closing all of the openings would be best for aero or should i completely redo the shape, this was after looking at basjoos civic thinking the bumper needs to be more pointed, like this > .

here is what the bumper looks like:

Then as look would have it a few months ago a bolt on my front lower control arm decided to snap and that made my wheel and tire push into my fender and dent that pretty well, so I thought I will just replace that and use my cwest bumper.

BUT here is where is had the other idea of using a one piece front end came in.