Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2012, 09:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Ideas for a '95 Honda del Sol

I just purchased a used '95 Civic del Sol a couple of weeks ago do drive everyday and I'm looking for ways to help increase my fuel economy. I've never looked into ways on being more FE in any of my previous vehicles, so I'm really a noob at this stuff.

Specs on the car... D15B7 engine, automatic (ugh, only because I got a great deal on the car), 140k miles.

The overall condition of the car is good, runs great mechanically after a nice tuneup by changing the plugs and wires, oil change with a can of BG MOA for the current oil, alignment done and tire pressure adjusted 1 psi over recommended, new radiator and upper/lower hoses with new coolant fluid, and replaced the air filter with a K&N filter.

I still need to change the brake and power steering fluids, and I do need to do a transmission fluid drain and fill, not a flush since I have no idea if it's ever been done before, that's a disaster waiting to happen. Oh, I also ran a bottle of BG 44K through my last tank.

The car came with an OEM bra on the front end and standard 13 inch steel wheels with the hub caps. I'm still trying to get the throttle linkage and throttle valve cables perfectly synced, the car still shifts between 2500 and 3300 RPMs depending on throttle application, but does engage into the next gear no problems, no slippage.

With these specs, I would like to know any ideas or projects that could help with fuel efficiency? Thanks!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 02-14-2012, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Lean and Mean - '98 Honda Civic HX
Team Honda
90 day: 46.69 mpg (US)