Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2008, 10:47 AM   #141 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Central Alabama
Posts: 569

Big Salsa - '04 Toyota Sienna LE

Silver - '10 Toyota Prius III
Thanks: 107
Thanked 116 Times in 67 Posts
AV8R:
You can download the most current MPGuino version here.
You change the briteness settings at "bite brightness", very close to the top. If I remember correctly, 255 is off, 128 is full power. I only have three settings, 255, 245, 128. This allows me to turn it off, have a very low power for night time driving, and a bright setting for daytime driving. I am also using the blue LCD, which doesn't work as nicely as the yellow/green ones.
You will need arduino version 0011 to make this work, version 0012 will NOT work.
Arduino 0011 (release notes): Mac OS X, Windows, Linux.
Here is the page for "how to" install the programs on it. Not so bad. Here is a link to Post #46 of this thread. cmags does a good job of describing the process for installing the software onto the iDuino. I would guess it would be very similar, especially since the iDuino and the MPGuino Kit are both made by Fundamental Logic.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 10-31-2008, 10:56 PM   #142 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Private
Posts: 282
Thanks: 2
Thanked 72 Times in 46 Posts
Got my kit today! Give me a couple of days to get it together and installed.
(30 days from order to delivery)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 11:31 PM   #143 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 18

MR2 Turbo - '93 Toyota MR2 Turbo
90 day: 28.28 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fundamental Logic's store website is down. I want order an mpguino kit. Does anyone know what is going on with their site? Or when it will be back up?

ERIK
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 08:11 PM   #144 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 18

MR2 Turbo - '93 Toyota MR2 Turbo
90 day: 28.28 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Their website is back up now!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 11:39 AM   #145 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts USA
Posts: 84

Ziggy - '95 Audi S6 Sedan

Manfred - '97 Audi A6 Quattro Sedan
90 day: 20.61 mpg (US)

Clarabell - '03 Audi A4 Quattro Avant

Sherman - '98 Audi A6 Quattro Avant

Cab - '96 Audi Cabriolet
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Can't Upload to MPGuino

My Fundamental Logic MPGuino v1.0 has developed a problem. I cannot upload to it. I get this message from Arduino:

Code:
Binary sketch size: 14300 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)

C:\Program Files\arduino-0011\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CC:\Program Files\arduino-0011\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -pm168 -cstk500v1 -P\\.\COM6 -b19200 -D -Uflash:w:F:\Arduino\mpguino_075\mpguino_075_017\applet\mpguino_075_017.hex:i 



avrdude: Version 5.4-arduino, compiled on Oct 11 2007 at 19:12:32
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/

         System wide configuration file is "C:\Program Files\arduino-0011\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port            : \\.\COM6
         Using Programmer      : stk500v1
         Overriding Baud Rate  : 19200
avrdude: ser_open(): setting dtr
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20] 
avrdude: Recv: 
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0xfe
avrdude: Send: Q [51]   [20] 
avrdude: Recv: 
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

avrdude done.  Thank you.
My research says that this response indicates the MPGuino is not responding to avrdude. Yes, yes. I made sure that the correct COM port was selected.

The programming setup has to be correct because I can remove the ATmega from the MPGuino, put it in my iDuino and upload the sketch to it. Then move the ATmega back to the MPGuino and it works just fine. I have 2 ATmegas and have been moving them back and forth to accomplish the uploads.

Since I can always upload to either ATmega in the iDuino and never upload to either ATmega in the MPGuino, I assume the problem lies in the MPGuino.

I've checked the assembly of the MPGuino and I see nothing that could be shorting out. I have spacers between the display and the MPGuino board. Is it possible that the FTDI chip is corrupted? If so, how can I test it? Is there a tool I can use?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 12:21 PM   #146 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccomiskie View Post
My Fundamental Logic MPGuino v1.0 has developed a problem. I cannot upload to it. I get this message from Arduino:
Fire off an email to "service@fundamentallogic.com" for terribly specific advice, but assuming your MPGuino previously worked during uploads:
  • Look for shorts or open connections on the two 1K resistors, the 10K resistor, and the 0.1uF cap beside the 10K. Collectively these are the only analog components related to uploading sketches.
  • Look for loose solder joints on the ATmega's pin 1, pin 2, and pin 3. These (in addition to power and oscillator) are the ATmega168 pins relating to uploads.
  • Look at the FT232 chip. Look at pins one through 5 for any shorts or lifted joints. You can try re-heating individual pins. There are two vias on either side of pin 1, make sure these aren't shorting with any of the FT232 pins (well, the via beside pin 2 actually connects pin 2).
  • Under the FT232 (on the other side) is a group of three vias. Make sure none of these are shorted to each other.

Some other quick tests:
  • When connected? Does windows assign the FTDI chip a virtual COM port?
  • If you upload a generic Arduino sketch calling Serial.print, does the MPGuino's FTDI's com port work? There's a quick sketch in the Arduino IDE's Sketchbook -> Examples -> Communication -> ASCII Table or Spiff's Electronics Notebook: Fading LED default test sketch
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 12:23 PM   #147 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccomiskie View Post
Is it possible that the FTDI chip is corrupted? If so, how can I test it? Is there a tool I can use?
FTDI's programming and basic diagnostic tools is MProg and you'll need the D2XX drivers from D2XX Direct Drivers

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPGuino release one workspace dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 1060 09-27-2016 10:56 PM
Just some quick info on Scangauge vs. MPGuino NoCO2 OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 06-01-2015 04:58 PM
mpguino TDI feasability dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 28 05-08-2009 06:20 PM
Some suggestions and notes on the MPGuino SVOboy OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 08-01-2008 08:00 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com