Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2008, 11:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 262

Tracy - '00 vauxhall corsa
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
no vacuum for vacuum gauge?

hi

i tryed to install a vacuum gauge at the weekend but it didn't seem to work.

i located what i thought was a vacuum line using my haynes manual. manual said it was vacuum for fuel pressure regulator. the hoze was a small diameter and had no liquids in it when i poped it off. however the needle on the gauge didn't move and i know the gauge works from sucking on it.

using process of elimination this hoze looked like the most likely candidate. maybe my car has no vacuum ? is this possible? i am getting ok mpg though

__________________
Nissan Leaf 24kwh. Average FE = 300mpg 3.6miles/kwh (@plug)
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 11-06-2008, 07:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 460

WonderWagon - '94 Ford Escort LX
Last 3: 51.52 mpg (US)

DaBluOne - '99 Ford Escort SE
90 day: 48.97 mpg (US)

DaRedOne - '99 Ford Escort ZX2 Hot
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by modmonster View Post

maybe my car has no vacuum ? is this possible?
Only when the engine is turned off.

You need a vacuum source coming from a simple (no diaphragm or accumulator) fitting on the intake manifold.

If there is no such fitting, examine the intake manifold for a plugged threaded hole. In which case remove the plug and screw in a suitable fitting purchased from you local auto parts store.

HTH
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Russellville, KY
Posts: 540
Thanks: 8
Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts
I t'd into the hose going to the vacuum booster for the power brakes. If you use this source be sure you clamp all the hoses tight so you don't have one come off and lose vacuum to the brake booster.

__________________



  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Econometer/Vacuum Gauge Installation Guide Johnny Mullet Instrumentation 80 02-18-2015 12:58 PM
Mullet's Metro Project Johnny Mullet EcoModding Central 302 02-06-2011 07:04 PM
Vacuum gauge DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 18 10-24-2008 03:31 PM
Driving with a vacuum gauge Meph EcoModding Central 13 08-27-2008 09:40 PM
Vacuum gauge problems :( DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 3 05-14-2008 11:04 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com