Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2019, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Chuck - '92 Honda Civic VX
90 day: 50.76 mpg (US)
Turtle What are the best ways to hypermile a VX civic?

Hello everyone! I hope everyone is having a wonderful day! I am new to the ecomodder site and I was hoping for some help getting the most MPG out of my Honda civic VX. 90% of my driving is done on at speeds of 50-60 MPH in the foothills. I have a redneck version of a warm air intake and smooth wheel covers but what I am really looking for is driving techniques. So my question particularly for experienced Honda lean burn drivers is, what are the driving techniques that you have found to work best for stretching MPG in the VX?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 09-17-2019, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Toby - '13 Toyota Prius C
90 day: 64.01 mpg (US)

Daz - '15 Mazda 3 iTouring w/ Tech Package
90 day: 38.2 mpg (US)
With a lean burn vehicle, the magic is to stay in lean burn all the time. Since the VX doesn't come with FE instrumentation like the Insight, and you can't connect to it via OBDII, my recommendation would be a MPGuino, and maybe an AFR meter. Driving-with-load (constant throttle versus accelerating uphill) will help maintain lean burn.

As with any vehicle, coasting to stops (preferably engine off), pumping up your tires, adding fuel economy instrumentation are the best for improving fuel economy.

Do you have pictures of your VX?

2015 Mazda 3 iTouring Hatchback w/ Tech Package (wife's car)
Old 09-17-2019, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Click image for larger version

Name:	civic.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	26856