Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2010, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
The PRC.
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Elsewhere.
Posts: 5,304
Thanks: 285
Thanked 535 Times in 384 Posts
Scangauge Newbie Questions

Hi,

A couple of newbie questions about the SG2 if I may, I'm sure they have been covered before and I am going through the manual just now.

The car is a TDI PD 130 ASZ engine code. I know the MPG will be inacurate based on what I have read here but I would like to do a comparison between the SG2, the onboard readout (which is always optimistic) and calculating MPG based on fill ups. Plus I want the other readouts - TPS, MAP and Intake Temps.

1. Calibration - the manual states to put the tank size in but mine is under-reported. The 'official' size is 45 litres (aka 9.9 of the queen's own gallons) but I can regularly get nearer 55 litres in by using the reserve (pressing the vent knob inside the filler neck). Do I put in the official size or what I think it is or something in between ? The manual suggests to understate it I assume so that the range is pessimistic and you don't run out, which would be a bad thing.

2. US vs Imperial - the FAQ states

Quote:
Does the ScanGauge II support metric units?
Yes, the units of measure can be independently selected between Miles/Km, Gallons/Liters, Celcius/Fahrenheit, and PSI/KPA.
If you choose Km and Liters, fuel economy is reported as liters/100Km (LHK).
If you use Imperial Gallons when you do the calibration, fuel will then be adjusted to use Imperial Gallons.
so as I can't see something that says 'use imperial units' I assume during the calibration step it adjusts based on the fact I tell it so many imperial gallons went into the fillup. Kind of annoying as I want to tell it in litres (fuel is sold in Litres here) but have info in MPG (imperial).

3. Has anyone experimented with using the % adjustment in converting between wimpy sized gallons and the proper sized ones ?

4. If I mess it up during the calibration mind-meld, is there a reset function ? EDIT - I see the clear info now. Up to that page.

5. Any other advice ?

Its been like Christmas all morning, so this is me

And this is Mrs A

__________________
[I]So long and thanks for all the fish.[/I]
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-03-2010, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 128

Schwartzejetta - '00 Volkswagen Jetta TDI GL
90 day: 52.87 mpg (US)
Thanks: 18
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arragonis View Post
1. Calibration - the manual states to put the tank size in but mine is under-reported. The 'official' size is 45 litres (aka 9.9 of the queen's own gallons) but I can regularly get nearer 55 litres in by using the reserve (pressing the vent knob inside the filler neck). Do I put in the official size or what I think it is or something in between ? The manual suggests to understate it I assume so that the range is pessimistic and you don't run out, which would be a bad thing.
Use what you think you will normally set as your fill-up level as the tank size.
What you use consistantly should be your baseline "full tank". If that means you leave a reserve, so be it. As is, your car has a low fuel light still - you're going to mind that much more than the amount left on the SG.

And... don't press your luck TOO far below the low fuel light, until AFTER you've had a few tanks to calibrate your SGII to your vehicle. I ran my car 146km past the fuel light coming on, and had to refill the fuel filter to restart the car, the tank was completely dry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arragonis View Post
2. US vs Imperial - the FAQ states

so as I can't see something that says 'use imperial units' I assume during the calibration step it adjusts based on the fact I tell it so many imperial gallons went into the fillup. Kind of annoying as I want to tell it in litres (fuel is sold in Litres here) but have info in MPG (imperial).
Keep a calculator, or a little chart with the litres : Imp. Gallons conversions to one decimal place -- SG II only logs fuel to the 1/10 of a unit. This is where litres might end up being more accurate in the long term.

I actually keep my car's SGII all metric, and have a rough measure of X L/100km : Y mpg chart in the car for when I scrawl down my stats per tankful on the fuel receipt.

__________________
Current mod: Skidplate/Undertray for my MkIV Jetta. Next mod: CAD drawing for skidplate so other Jetta/Golf drivers can make one too!
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ChrstphrR For This Useful Post:
Arragonis (08-03-2010)
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ScanGauge Questions for a VW Diesel. Deezler Instrumentation 13 07-09-2010 08:42 PM
Newbie questions ChillyBear EcoModding Central 41 02-09-2010 04:14 AM
Noob scangauge questions vielecustoms Instrumentation 3 10-05-2009 03:12 PM
MPGuino newbie questions mhopeng OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 2 06-28-2009 05:01 PM
just got my SGII (ScanGauge II) few questions for the collective.. Chris D. Instrumentation 27 04-22-2008 08:38 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com