Go Back   EcoModder Forum > AltModding > Saving@Home
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2013, 09:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Oh Deer - '03 Ford Ranger XL
90 day: 33.97 mpg (US)
Is this a silly idea?

Hello everyone.

I am new to this section of the forum but have been posting on the automotive side for a while. I had thought about solar and wind turbines for home use and had seen different articles about how some lucky people could actually get their electric meters to "spin backwards" because they were making more juice than they were using. they could then re-sell the "overage" back to the electric utility for a lower rate (IIRC) than they were already buying it for but still saving money on their bill.

My idea was, if yo are going to all the trouble of adding solar and possibly wind then why not add a battery bank (outside the home of course for venting purposes) and another panel to run low draw items such as lighting. That is if you are using CFL or LED bulbs or even possibly using 12v DC bulbs you can find at the RV dealers.

The other idea was to convert the battery bank output to 120v AC and run wire to one half of certain outlets in the home. Some of the stuff we plug in are low draw like alarm clocks reading lamps (with low draw bulbs) phone chargers etc. Why tie this system into the "grid" and re-sell your hard work back to the utility for a lower rate than they charge you when you could use "your" power yourself at 100% savings. Minus the cost of installation of course, but if you are going wind/solar you will already have initial costs anyhow. You'd only be paying the utility for the electricity your high draw items make.