Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2009, 08:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Young'n
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 50

Red Dread - '03 Ford Ranger FX4 Level II
90 day: 19.81 mpg (US)

Bessie - '08 Honda Civic Hybrid
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay, thanks for the heads-up. I'm going to stop by my auto parts store and see if they have one for my model as soon as I get the extra cash. I haven't seen any Helms around here but I know that they sell Haynes around here.

__________________


  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 02-25-2009, 08:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Moderate your Moderation.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Troy, Pa.
Posts: 8,919

Pasta - '96 Volkswagen Passat TDi
90 day: 45.22 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1,369
Thanked 430 Times in 353 Posts
Just for kicks, take the Chilton's with you, and check them side by side. (The parts guys will let you look through it before you buy it, or just look for what you want and put it back on the shelf.)

Compare the wiring schematics side by side, then when you get it home, compare both of them to the wiring.

I'm not saying 100% that the Chilton's is wrong, but I stopped using them altogether after a few incidents with wiring and other instruction being wrong in the Chilton's manuals on a few different models.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 08:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Young'n
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 50

Red Dread - '03 Ford Ranger FX4 Level II
90 day: 19.81 mpg (US)

Bessie - '08 Honda Civic Hybrid
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christ View Post
I'm not saying 100% that the Chilton's is wrong, but I stopped using them altogether after a few incidents with wiring and other instruction being wrong in the Chilton's manuals on a few different models.
Hah, that's totally understandable man I'm sure I would have stopped using them as well. I'll keep that in mind now when looking through the diagrams.

Thanks
__________________


  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 45
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferr3t View Post
Is there any way to tell when your torque converter has locked up, other than by "seat of the pants" feel?
In my '98 CRV the seat of the pants method is actually pretty obvious. If you're trying to find the feel, I tend to dance with that when I'm climbing moderate grades at highway speeds. The engine jumps easily 500 rpm and gets noticably louder, and pulling back off the throttle quickly settles it back down again. The other place to look for it is coming up to speed on the highway. If you accelerate somewhat hard, the final shift into 4th will be followed shortly by one more "little" shift.
I would just play around with your driving a bit before adding more instrumentation though. I think being enamored with my ScanGuage is almost as dangerous as talking on a cell phone...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 74
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I just check to see if I can add an indicator light for lockup on my Previa, I connected a led diode and series 1k resistor to +12V so it will go out when lockup is enguaged. Supprisingly, the 12Ma it takes cause the RPM to drop at idle! no way 12mA will pull in a solendiod, it must have some electronics in the gearbox.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 05:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here is "smart" solution for manual TC lock.

I posted this on "dodgeforum" but it might be useful here as well

I was thinking about adding manual switch to and I did but the problem is sooner or later you will forget to turn it off before stop . So after it happened to me few times I decided to do something.

After googling for a while I only cold find 2 solutions expensive buy control or cheap switch.

I didn't like both of them and made 3 one. It cost me about $20+time.

#1 List of materials

1. Arduino UNO. (eBay)

2. Arduino relay (eBay) or just 5V relay from scrap electronics....

3. Power supply for my old usb handsfree. (12v-5v)

4. op-amp amplifier. I found one in old bread maker AZ358

http://junwellcorp.com/Attachment.ph...rp.com.cn/pdf/

#4 can be LM128 or LM358 or probably many other op-amps.

5. Some wires.

#2 My truck

My truck is Ram 1998.5 5.9 24v diesel.

1. I found how to add manual switch here:

http://www.tstproducts.com/Torque%20...p%20Switch.pdf

2. I used speed sensor which is located on top of rear differential. The 2 wires come straight to ABS module in engine bay. (will post colors later).

The signal from speed sensor is low voltage, so I used op-amp amplifier to boost it.

#3 Wiring what where how

First and the most complicated part is op-amp. Here in this pdf find page #2 "Pin Configuration"

http://junwellcorp.com/Attachment.ph...rp.com.cn/pdf/

pin 1 output goes to pin #5 on Arduino board
pin 2 and pin 3 are 2 wires from speed sensor doesn't matter + or -
pin 4 ground goes to pin ground Arduino
pin 5,6,7 nothing
pin 8 +5 v from Arduino

Power supply can be any 5V USB car charger. I just soldered + and - to Arduino board.

I bought relay for Arduino but 5V relay can be found just about anywhere. I used pin #8 on Arduino board to turn relay ON/OFF.

I still have manual switch which can turn off TC lock manually even if Arduino keeps it locked. Here is handy for heavy towing.....

I also added LED which shows TC status Locked-ON Unlocked-Off

#4 Software

Just google Arduino and see what you need to install to make it work. Arduino soft is open source and FREE.

Also you need to read this if you like:

http://interface.khm.de/index.php/la...unter-library/

I used their code and just changed few things....

You need to Download >FreqCounter Library:

http://interface.khm.de/wp-content/u...unter_1_12.zip

You need to add this Library to make code work. Here what to do:

Arduino - Libraries

#5 Code

//====================================
#include <FreqCounter.h>
const int relayPin = 8;

void setup() {
// initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
Serial.begin(57600);
Serial.println("Frequency Counter");
pinMode(relayPin, OUTPUT);
}
int torqLock=1875;
int torqUnlock=1700;
long int rpm;
void loop() {
FreqCounter::f_comp=12; // Set compensation to 12
FreqCounter::start(1000); // Start counting with gatetime of 100ms
while (FreqCounter::f_ready == 0) // wait until counter ready

rpm=FreqCounter::f_freq-FreqCounter::f_freq/500; // read result
Serial.println(rpm); // print result
//delay(1);

if (rpm < torqUnlock) {
// Unlock Relay off: HIGH
digitalWrite(relayPin, HIGH);
}
else if (rpm > torqLock) {
// Lock Relay on: LOW
digitalWrite(relayPin, LOW);
}

}
//========================================

#6 Code comments

In code you can see this 2 lines:

int torqLock=1875;
int torqUnlock=1700;


1875 is frequency from speed sensor @ 65 KMH (Canada)
1700 is frequency from speed sensor @ 59 KMH

This are your 2 parameters for Lock/Unlock.

How I found them? Easy.... When truck is running (I used 2 jacks to lift it up)
in Arduino tools-serial monitor pop up window will show frequency. I ran truck at 65 kmh and found frequency... the same for unlock...

#7 How it works???

1. Speed sensor sends signal to op amp amplifier

2. Amplifier amplifies it and sends it to Arduino pin #5

3. Arduino keeps checking frequency from amplifier pin #5. As soon as frequency is higher than 1875 (different trucks can be different) it sends signal to pin#8.

4. Pin #8 connected to relay which Locks/Unlocks TC (just like manual switch)

5. Relay is kept Locked until frequency doesn't fall to 1700.

6. When frequency is 1700 Arduino unlocks relay and TC is unlocked.


Please post your comments about this solution. It is not perfect but much better than manual switch and cost only about $20+ time to build it.

I still use manual switch to override Arduino some times. Here is scenario when I use manual switch. I drive uphill in traffic or just hill is steep. As soon as I reach 65kmh TC locks but load is too high for this slow speed. I will turn switch off. The Arduino keeps locking TC but I manually broke the circuit with switch.

I use Arduino auto lock when I drive on flat surface empty or with light load.

Later I will add button or POT to make speed Lock adjustable on the fly.

Enjoy
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 07:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
ever_green's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 264

gueff - '19 Mercedes Benz A250 4MATIC AMG
90 day: 30.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 79 Times in 33 Posts
I usually can tell by looking at tachometer. When rpm falls without changing gears. Usually torque converters lock up above 30mph under light throttle right away if the car is fully warm.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 01:58 AM   #18 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ever_green View Post
I usually can tell by looking at tachometer. When rpm falls without changing gears. Usually torque converters lock up above 30mph under light throttle right away if the car is fully warm.
In my truck TC locks at 80 kmh. Also it unlocks when you remove your foot from throttle you start coasting. Now My TC locks at 65 kph and doesn't unlock untill speed falls bellow 59 kmh. Engine rpm without TC lock is 1400-1500 @ 65 kmh and with lock is 1100 @ 65 kmh. TC lock also helps to slow down by holding engine engaged saves break pads etc....

Today I had a trip to US about 200k and I can definitely say I LOVE IT.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,643
Thanks: 1,502
Thanked 279 Times in 229 Posts
My honda it locks up at speeds over 4mph.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 01:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb View Post
My honda it locks up at speeds over 4mph.
I have never heard about locking TC at such a low speed. It defeats the purpose. How you transmission will shift right from 1 gear?

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master list of 65+ proven mods for increasing MPG MetroMPG EcoModding Central 220 10-24-2019 01:44 AM
looking for electric screwdriver drill torque values lunarhighway The Lounge 7 02-03-2009 08:41 PM
DC/DC Converter Indicator Light TomEV Fossil Fuel Free 2 10-28-2008 09:47 AM
Series Motor - Speed vs Torque TomEV Fossil Fuel Free 3 03-02-2008 12:27 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com