08-12-2008, 01:42 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
|
Master EcoModder
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,006
Thanks: 8
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
|
On vehicles that are having trouble with the VSS signal, does the VSS go through the ECM or VSS buffer? And if so, is the signal being tapped after that?
I know at least on mine, the signal from the VSS itself isnt very friendly. Depending on the vehicle, it goes either through the ECM or VSS buffer to clean up the signal, and then feeds the pulses per mile to the gauge cluster and cruise control module. I tapped into that and didnt have any problems once I got my wiring right.
__________________
Winter daily driver, parked most days right now
Summer daily driver
|
|
|
Today
|
|
|
Other popular topics in this forum...
|
|
|
08-12-2008, 03:27 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 23
4OVER4 - '85 Mitsubishi Starion ESi 90 day: 24.97 mpg (US) Auto - '87 Mitsubishi Starion LE 90 day: 23.65 mpg (US) Soarer - '96 Lexus SC-300 90 day: 25.27 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagonman76
On vehicles that are having trouble with the VSS signal, does the VSS go through the ECM or VSS buffer? I know at least on mine, the signal from the VSS itself isnt very friendly...
|
Starions: The signal to the ECM is not pre-filtered. It's a very bouncy/noisy 0-5v signal created by a magnet/reed switch combination at the speedometer.
|
|
|
09-07-2008, 01:00 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
needs more cowbell
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
|
Just a heads up, I think I made some progress this morning after the NASA guys got me thinking
Basic strategy,
keep track of the number of vss pulses (already do that) and accumulate the vss pulse lengths.
every 1/2 second compute the instant mph from the accumulated pulse lengths/number of vss pulses and reset.
I did a quick road test an instant mph is looking a lot better in the metro. Will release a new version when satisfied with it and when I integrate it into instant mpg.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
|
|
|
09-07-2008, 04:12 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olympia, wa
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
Here is the waveform supplied to me from DCB. Placing a filter circuit in there will clean up the extra high speed pulses (small peaks) that may trigger false signals.
__________________
Last edited by ac7ss; 09-07-2008 at 04:13 PM..
Reason: Image
|
|
|
09-07-2008, 04:18 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
|
needs more cowbell
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
|
There are no known false peaks being picked up though. The chip has built in a differential between ON and OFF detection and there is debouncing to boot. As well as the pulse count seems accurate over large distances, so what are you trying to fix? The extra hardware won't buy you anything at this point.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
|
|
|
09-07-2008, 04:28 PM
|
#16 (permalink)
|
needs more cowbell
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
|
I would add that as evidence that the fully processed signal is about as good as it is going to get is evidenced by the fact that when you average the readings over 1/2 second it now seems to be spot on and pretty smooth.
So it is accurate over distance, it is accurate on the 1/2 second scale, things will get progressively worse at less than 1/2 second for sure.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
|
|
|
09-07-2008, 04:54 PM
|
#17 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olympia, wa
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
Likely, the downslope and upslope are causing the difficulty. They may be triggering a longer / shorter duration between pulses depending on the trigger level. If the average over a half second is good. there is not likely to be a problem in the long term. If one wanted to play with it on their own, there are a few ways to normalize the signal. But if, as you say, the 1/2 second average is good, that is the best solution.
__________________
|
|
|
09-07-2008, 05:27 PM
|
#18 (permalink)
|
needs more cowbell
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac7ss
Likely, the downslope and upslope are causing the difficulty.
|
Well, if you like, around position 1159760 in that file, the speed should be pretty steady, but I think you will find that the large verticals are not evenly spaced, likely due to mechanical "slop". The data is all there and you were the one who said it was "easy" You might have to look at more than one pulse though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac7ss
of course, if we had a trace output of the anomalous pulses it would be easy to determine the easy way to screen them out.
|
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
|
|
|
09-11-2008, 11:16 PM
|
#19 (permalink)
|
testing the waters
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
I just uploaded the v.72 code and the vss instant speed is awesome it is so fluid now, EXCEPT
when I get to 40 mph
then it waits until about 60 mph before it starts counting backward
1, 10, 30, 40, 40, 40, 40, 40, 39, 38, 37
CRAZY
where in the code can I tweak this to get it right?
|
|
|
09-11-2008, 11:27 PM
|
#20 (permalink)
|
needs more cowbell
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
|
Hmm.... Maybe
Code:
change:
addEvent(enableVSSID,2 ); //check back in a couple milli
to:
addEvent(enableVSSID,1 ); //check back in a couple milli
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
|
|
|
|