Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2009, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

want to a vechile build

hi, i am new to electric vechiles but have always had a big interest in using low fuel bikes and cars (i currently drive a 50cc scooter) and i wanted to know how to get started on a self build starting with a electic motor that gave out as much power as a 50cc engine. plus i would like some pointers on where to learn about and buy breaking systems and other aspects of how a normal car parts will fit with an electric vechile. hope this doesnt sound too much like a stupid question. kindest regards, Philip

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 10-07-2009, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
What type of 50cc engine? a 1hp moped engine or a 12hp 50cc race bike engine?
I would go with something like an E-tek motor as it is going to be more then enough power for you, is common and is designed for this type of project.
as for brakes, I would start with a base vehicle, that way you have a VIN, a title, wheels, a frame, brakes and you can buy brake parts based off that vehicle.
Old 10-07-2009, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

where can i get a base vehicle? and the rest of the parts i will need?
Old 10-08-2009, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

bjjwarrior I think this project is going to be beyond you, stop now!

For others who want to do this you can start by finding a base vehicle in your local classified ads, craigslist, junk yard, Car-Part.com--Used Auto Parts Market, friend with a yard full of old cars, your own yard full of old cars.
Old 10-08-2009, 08:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker