Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2009, 03:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
EV and Aero Enthusiast

Need Ecomodding Assistance!

So in about 4 months I am looking to take a road trip with a few friends covering about 2500-3000 miles. I drive a 1998 Toyota Camry 2.2 L 5S-FE I4 133 hp automatic transmission (yes I know not the best for fuel economy) but on my last road trip with 4 people and about 200-300 pounds worth of gear, I managed about 32.5 mpg (also not the best, but I am new to this stuff ). As it stands, there are no mods on my car (except if you want to count 1 missing mudflap ). Anyway, needless to say, I am looking to get better mileage and would like to make a few mods. The mods I would like to do are as follows; bellypan, rear wheel skirts, partial grille block, tape seams, MAYBE smooth wheel covers, mudflap delete, also might look into passenger mirror delete. I am going to California so I cant really afford an A/C delete but almost everything else is a possibility! Any ideas from you guys would be greatly appreciated. Also, I assume many of you guys have done mods like this in the past so any helpful tips for installation would be appreciated also. Maybe this will even be a challenge for you guys as the Camry isn't exactly the most aerodynamic car . Oh and another challenge, I would like to keep the mods under the price of the amount of gas I will save, so figure if I get a gain of 8mpg, over 2500 miles, I will save about $40 give or take a few. This might be impossible but I would at least like to try my best.

Also, the car below is not mine, just a representation of what mine looks like.

Thanks in advance

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TOCA9799.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	3336  
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-28-2009, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Batman Junior