Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2009, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Daq Civic - '92 Honda Civic DX sedan
90 day: 42.54 mpg (US)

The Hardbody - '91 Nissan D21 (pickup)

Finer points of P&G

So I am new to employing P&G as a dedicated FE technique, and I want to work out the finer points. I've read up quite a bit on what people have to say about it, so I think I've done enough research to get into a discussion about it.

As I understand it, the goal of P&G is to maximize FE by maximizing coasting distance/time (not sure which is better to think in terms of) and minimizing BSFC while DWL. (I understand min BSFC to be the RPM and load level at which the engine uses the least amount of fuel for the power being produced.) To put it another way, to get the best aggregate FE between coasting (EOC if possible) and pulsing (accelerating at the load and in the RPM range that will minimize BSFC, given the speed, power output, and gearing of the vehicle). It seems to have been very well demonstrated that this achieves significantly better FE than "egg-under-foot" acceleration and steady coasting for a given average speed and RPM, though the benefits are far greater for lower speed ranges.