Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > General Efficiency Discussion
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2009, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Gas Passer

Burnt's Cobalt - '09 Chevy Cobalt LT XFE
Team Chevy
90 day: 38.66 mpg (US)
Incredibly stupid question (engine temperature related)

I'm not a mechanic, or mechanically inclined

that being said, my '09 cobalt doesn't have a temperature guage...instead one of the readout options is the temperature of the coolant....

is that close to what the actual engine temperature is? and if so, what are acceptable temp ranges? I'm planning on putting in a stealth grill block, and obviously I want to keep an eye on the engine temp during the whole process

I'm not so much worried about it now (ohio winters are heinous), but more so in the warmer summer months

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 12-08-2009, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Maroon Ballon - '98 Chrysler Town & Country LXI
90 day: 26.42 mpg (US)

MaEsTRO - '95 Geo Metro 5spd hatch, 3 cyl
Temp gauges read coolant temp, so that is what you want to watch.

Welcome, and good luck!
Old 12-08-2009, 06:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Batman Junior

Blackfly - '98 Geo Metro
Team Metro
Last 3: 70.09 mpg (US)

MPGiata - '90 Mazda Miata
90 day: 52.71 mpg (US)

Even Fancier Metro - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage top spec
90 day: 70.75 mpg (US)

Appliance car - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage ES (base)
90 day: 60.16 mpg (US)
Thanked 6,957 Times in 3,602 Posts
You could do a simple test: next time you get to your destination, let the engine idle (heater off) and watch the gauge slowly climb.

Listen closely - after some minutes, the electric radiator fan will kick on. Note the temperature when it does (likely somewhere north of 200 F). The number you see on your read out is what you want to know.

You should size your partial grille block so your fan isn't coming on any more than normal.