Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2014, 12:36 AM   #191 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
-bump- Any ideas on the temporary setup why I'm getting nothing from the motor?

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-12-2014, 01:06 AM   #192 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
mechman600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 1,225

Colorado - '04 Chevrolet Colorado
90 day: 22.98 mpg (US)
Thanks: 190
Thanked 271 Times in 165 Posts
The green light is on on the controller? If it's red, then it has a fault and will not do anything.
Also, make sure the controller is configured properly for your setup, e.g. if you have a 0-5K throttle vs a 5K-0 setup. If it is 5K-0 but your throttle is 0 at idle and the high throttle lockout safety is enabled in the controller configuration, it won't do anything.
Go into the configuration software for your controller and make sure it is set up properly.
I recall having issues getting mine going at first too. Even when I reconfigured, it wouldn't change the parameters until I tried it a few times. It was weird.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 04:01 AM   #193 (permalink)
Growin a stash
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 553
Thanks: 313
Thanked 193 Times in 145 Posts
That's an awesome looking bike. Reminds me of the movie Charge.
__________________


2015 Nissan Leaf S, 164 mpge
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 11:07 PM   #194 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ME_Andy View Post
That's an awesome looking bike. Reminds me of the movie Charge.
Thanks. I'm still not done with the body. I'm going to make or have custom made some fairings for it.

I'm having some difficulty with the colors on my throttle and the controller. I'm color-defficient, so I need some assistance. I'm using the Magura throttle (0-5k ohms). It has a BLACK, BLUE, and RED (BROWN?) wire. Alltrax says BLACK goes to #2. Got it. #3? I tried both the blue and the brown/red/whatever color on the #3 terminal and loaded the Alltrax controller program and got no response from the throttle.



It would help greatly if I knew which colors went where, and then I can then troubleshoot any software problems with Windows 8.1 and this Alltrax program.

With BLACK + BLUE I get 2 green blinks, which means: 2 Green LED flashes = 5K-0 ohm resisitive

With BLACK and BROWN/RED/WHATEVER I get 2 Green flashes and then 3 red flashes.

Last edited by TurnNBurn; 09-12-2014 at 11:19 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 11:46 PM   #195 (permalink)
Growin a stash
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 553
Thanks: 313
Thanked 193 Times in 145 Posts
I'm not sure but you could test the resistance between each pair of those wires with a multimeter. Change the throttle position, test again.
__________________


2015 Nissan Leaf S, 164 mpge
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 11:57 PM   #196 (permalink)
Growin a stash
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 553
Thanks: 313
Thanked 193 Times in 145 Posts
Looks like all three wires need to be hooked up. I think you're missing the red connection to 5V, blue should go to #3. Basically it's always seeing 0V unless you hook up red to 5V. Do you have a 5V source?

Endless-sphere.com • View topic - using magura throttles
__________________


2015 Nissan Leaf S, 164 mpge

Last edited by ME_Andy; 09-13-2014 at 12:09 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 12:48 AM   #197 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ME_Andy View Post
Looks like all three wires need to be hooked up. I think you're missing the red connection to 5V, blue should go to #3. Basically it's always seeing 0V unless you hook up red to 5V. Do you have a 5V source?

Endless-sphere.com • View topic - using magura throttles
I don't have a 5v power source. I've got a bunch of little 12v batteries and then the 72v battery pack. That's it. Nowhere in my research did I ever see a 5v source required.

Last edited by TurnNBurn; 09-13-2014 at 01:11 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 01:50 AM   #198 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
mechman600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 1,225

Colorado - '04 Chevrolet Colorado
90 day: 22.98 mpg (US)
Thanks: 190
Thanked 271 Times in 165 Posts
The Alltrax doesn't need +5V. Just a variable resistance throttle. 0-5K. Or 5K-0.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 02:16 AM   #199 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechman600 View Post
The Alltrax doesn't need +5V. Just a variable resistance throttle. 0-5K. Or 5K-0.
I figured as much. I'm going to mess with some of the alltrax settings. But I'd like to know if the wiring is correct. Like I said, knowing the wiring is right would make software troubleshooting easier.

-edit-
I'm gonna mess with the ohm meter and test resistance in a bit. Got tied up with other things.

Last edited by TurnNBurn; 09-13-2014 at 01:35 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 10:26 PM   #200 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
I programmed the controller, AGAIN, because I thought I already set it up months ago. And i found the proper wires and connected those to the controller. I'm till waiting on the resistors and stuff from China. Been about two weeks now. Still waiting.

I'm hoping to get as much done in the next few weeks because I'll need to pack up stuff and get ready. I'll be away from home for 6 months, so this project may seem dead.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com