Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Off-Topic > The Lounge
Register Now
 Register Now
 


Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2021, 04:38 AM   #221 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 10,287

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 30.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,731
Thanked 1,934 Times in 1,471 Posts
New laptop keeps losing network adapters

I wanted to do a full comparison with my various other laptops and Mom's, but I didn't have the time before I sent in both Lenovos--and I had reinstalled Windows on the old one.

I wanted to leave it as-is for the repair minions.

As I mentioned, there is less space between the keyboard and the hinge. It also has smaller top and bottom bezels and I think that it has smaller side bezels than the laptops that I bought in the last year.

Some people give laptops low reviews because, even though they have narrow side bezels, the top and bottom ones are inexcusably thick!

Seriously?

Well, this one doesn't, and it is nice, but I wouldn't have complained about it.

The power button is in a weird location. My old Lenovo had a dedicated power button and my oldest laptop does, too. The ones that I bought this year have the power button on the top-right of the keyboard. Does that give it a minimalist look? I don't know, but laptop keyboards are already crowded and numeric keypads are especially so.

Mom's numeric keypad is narrow, the Enter key is the size of a normal key and the Page Up and Page Down keys are weird.

I haven't used it long enough to learn where all of the keys are, so I need to look at what I am doing.

I just realized that the numeric keypad on my new laptop is slightly narrower than normal, but I didn't notice until I looked closely. It is virtually normal, without a power button and arrow keys in the way.

My gaming laptop doesn't have dedicated Home, End, Page Up, Print Screen, or Page Down keys. The numbers are pushed up, the Num Lock button is where the left side of the 0 key usually is, and it has oversized arrow keys.

The rest have half-sized up and down arrow keys. I haven't played WoW in a couple of weeks, but I have played it like this, and it is fine.

I think that only my gaming keyboard has a Context Menu key--the one on the bottom right that acts like right-clicking.

I normally use that often.

The gaming keyboard also has a screen capture key that I usually hit on accident. I used it a few times to record something to turn into a GIF.

This keyboard has Escape, the function keys, Insert\Print Screen, and then the power button and Delete, so yes, weird spot for it, but it is easier to find with a lit keyboard, unlike the $300 laptops that I bought for myself.

Mom's laptop has it, though!

I have never liked touchpads. It always seems like they pick up my thumb movements when I type, so my cursor moves randomly.

The other laptops let me hit Function and a Function key to turn off the touchpad, but not this one, and for a while it acted like I was holding down the touchpad constantly, so I needed to figure out how to turn it off through the hardware--two ways.

The first way that I turned off the touchpad didn't do anything.

It has a fingerprint scanner, which was cool when I briefly used this before upgrading it, but I haven't set it up again.

However, as I put in the title, about half of the time that I wake up my laptop it doesn't show any network adapters. Troubleshooting doesn't do anything but ask if I want to give feedback.

I would love to, but I would need Internet access!

I haven't looked into it yet. I have been trying to fix problems with my desktop, on top of other problems.

I have only used this for web browsing and chatting with people, so it isn't too inconvenient to reboot it frequently, but I need to fix this or send back yet another laptop.

As for my desktop, [sigh]:
It lost all printers, which is how I make PDFs, even though I have a PDF writer.

That is fun. I paid for a program and when I save a PDF with my registered copy it puts a watermark on it, just like the free version.

When I first bought it I talked to customer service and eventually fixed it, but it came back. I believe that I took care of it a second time, but I just save to PDF--when it works.

I never lost my printers before.

The benefit of printing to PDF is that it makes it more difficult for someone else to alter.

I started trying to figure out why I couldn't print when suddenly I couldn't save to a folder on my hard drive. I started trying to fix that and suddenly I couldn't access File Manager or Control Panel. I found instructions for fixing that, but I couldn't get very far because I couldn't access Control Panel!

The instructions said to create a new administrator account and then copy all of my stuff to it.

I logged out of my main account, logged into the new one, and it seemed like everything worked, but I couldn't remember the exact error code, so I switched back to my main account, and it seemed like everything worked, but the next time that I tried to print it said that I didn't have any printers, and the next time I tried to save to that same folder, after ensuring that I have full access on my hard drive, I still didn't have permission.

It might just be that program. Others were able to save to the same folder just fine.

I am going to fix the desktop first. Right now it is just more convenient to use my laptop even when I am right next to my desktop. The 43" 4k television is great, but this uses less electricity, right?

__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 02-02-2021, 10:53 PM   #222 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
freebeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: northwest of normal
Posts: 18,306
Thanks: 5,025
Thanked 6,061 Times in 4,850 Posts
Some fool put $600 in my credit union account. I'm in danger of saving, and having, money.

So what does anyone know about Big Sur?

I still resent that Apple added an 'are you really, really sure?' step in Shut Down just to make Windows users comfortable, and the last time I got current on Mac OS they were making it more like an iPhone, even though I would never want such a thing.

So does anyone know about the current Mac OS? Does it still say, 'This is a program you downloaded from Internet, do you really want to open it?'

edit:
Re: keyboard layout:


https://vilros.com/products/vilros-r...touchpad-combo

This deal has a 7" touch screen, and a wireless gamer keyboard that uses a USB dongle. The track pad is above the keys.

But wait there's more for your $160. Another computer, the same kind I want the touch screen for so I can put it in the dashboard of the Metro. I'm using it right now with a Logitech keyboard.

My next printer will be a Creality Ender 3.
__________________
.
The difference between science and screwin' around, is writing it down.
Adam Savage
_________________

Last edited by freebeard; 02-02-2021 at 11:52 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 11:08 PM   #223 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 10,287

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 30.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,731
Thanked 1,934 Times in 1,471 Posts
All that I know about Apple is that Tim Cook says "The path of least resistance is rarely the path of wisdom," but the path of least resistance when your Apple product breaks is to have an Apple minion fix it.

Instead of, you know, fixing it yourself, or taking it to a nearby shop.
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2021, 11:13 PM   #224 (permalink)
Growin a stash
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 642
Thanks: 360
Thanked 228 Times in 172 Posts
No spending for you, freebeard. You need an arcimoto more.
__________________


2015 Nissan Leaf S, 164 mpge
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ME_Andy For This Useful Post:
Xist (02-04-2021)
Old 02-03-2021, 11:24 PM   #225 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
freebeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: northwest of normal
Posts: 18,306
Thanks: 5,025
Thanked 6,061 Times in 4,850 Posts
Back when I worked at Symantec, I could fix them myself. When I worked at Nextstep I just bought used and recycled them. Now new ARM computers come as inexpensively as used ones.

I'd like an Arcimoto something, but with H.R.127 in the hopper, I think a 3D printer is more critical. It will take them a year or so to get the A. I.-designed carver suspension in production anyway.

__________________
.
The difference between science and screwin' around, is writing it down.
Adam Savage
_________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com