Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2009, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Civic VX lean burn

I need to turn my 95 civic vx back into CA state legal smog limits. The hack job on my wire harness is nothing like what ive seen in any conversion on the web.
How do i figure out if i need a 5 wire or 4 wire o2 sensor ?
any help would be appreciated...

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-29-2009, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010
 
SVOboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hanover, NH
Posts: 6,427

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 92
Thanked 114 Times in 82 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SVOboy Send a message via MSN to SVOboy Send a message via Yahoo to SVOboy
You need a 4 wire for CA emissions.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 02:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Moderate your Moderation.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Troy, Pa.
Posts: 8,919

Pasta - '96 Volkswagen Passat TDi
90 day: 45.22 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1,369
Thanked 430 Times in 353 Posts
LOL - another hacked up ricer-molested ride for the books... Hopefully, you don't have too many problems with it.
__________________
"¿ʞɐǝɹɟ ɐ ǝɹ,noʎ uǝɥʍ 'ʇı ʇ,usı 'ʎlǝuol s,ʇı"

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 09:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So CA uses 4 wire..? Why was a 5 wire o2 used then hacked into a jacked up 4 wire ? with a diode and one of the wires strung out to a ground ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010
 
SVOboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hanover, NH
Posts: 6,427

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 92
Thanked 114 Times in 82 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SVOboy Send a message via MSN to SVOboy Send a message via Yahoo to SVOboy
I guess someone stupid tried to do something misguided and failed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The car runs they way its suppposed, i think. it just wont pass smog. I really didnt want to buy another o2 sensor for this thing either, since they are around $300.
Its just so confusing as to why it was done the way it was...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010
 
SVOboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hanover, NH
Posts: 6,427

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 92
Thanked 114 Times in 82 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SVOboy Send a message via MSN to SVOboy Send a message via Yahoo to SVOboy
You can get the o2 for ~$180 if you shop around
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Moderate your Moderation.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Troy, Pa.
Posts: 8,919

Pasta - '96 Volkswagen Passat TDi
90 day: 45.22 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1,369
Thanked 430 Times in 353 Posts
You can get them for the cost of shipping sometimes, if you go to Honda Forums and ask around. Some people will swap them out for your 5 wire, if you don't mind you car being down for a few days whie you're shipping..
__________________
"¿ʞɐǝɹɟ ɐ ǝɹ,noʎ uǝɥʍ 'ʇı ʇ,usı 'ʎlǝuol s,ʇı"

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego,Ca
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can some one show me where the info is on whether or not the CA uses 4 wire or 5 wire ? 50% say its 4 wire and 50% say its 5 wire. how do i know for sure what it is ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Moderate your Moderation.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Troy, Pa.
Posts: 8,919

Pasta - '96 Volkswagen Passat TDi
90 day: 45.22 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1,369
Thanked 430 Times in 353 Posts
Check with an inspection station - they'll be able to tell you without even looking.

__________________
"¿ʞɐǝɹɟ ɐ ǝɹ,noʎ uǝɥʍ 'ʇı ʇ,usı 'ʎlǝuol s,ʇı"

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Cali Civic VX to Fed (lean burn) VX NachtRitter DIY / How-to 83 06-20-2015 11:30 AM
lean burn rules~! coolwHip Introductions 42 10-01-2011 05:42 AM
Max lean burn horsepower with VX engine. basjoos EcoModding Central 13 02-08-2010 11:04 PM
VX Info...WARNING: lots of info! TomO Off-Topic Tech 1 01-05-2010 12:39 PM
VX lean burn Nden DIY / How-to 11 12-05-2008 09:01 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com