Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2008, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
SirKeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 111

GeRide - '89 Geo Metro *XFi
90 day: 54.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cruise Control Options for 5spd Metro's

A good portion of my daily commute is on the highway... where I try to maintain a steady speed of 55mph.

Having some way of simply setting a cruise control would be nice. I'm wondering if anyone has rigged anything up and if so how they went about doing so.

Thanks!

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-04-2008, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veggiedynamics
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alexandria, MN
Posts: 684

Volt12 - '12 Chevy Volt base
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
to add cruise to a 5 speed all thats really diffrent is a secondary cut out switch on the clutch.. However ofter cruise isn't the most effective for getting best MPG.. however keep your foot from getting tired..

I know Jc Whitmey and other autoparts places like that have aftermarkey cruise setups.. usually they consist and a wheel speed sensor and a actuator that hoot to the throttle and then wiring and switchs and the control module and switches you turn it on and off from..

However if your adventurous enough you could do the old school "cruise control" .. like bajoos did on his areocivic.. the hand operated "throttle stop" when put in place it just holds the throttle for you in one position.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 07:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
SirKeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 111

GeRide - '89 Geo Metro *XFi
90 day: 54.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebacherville View Post
However if your adventurous enough you could do the old school "cruise control" .. like bajoos did on his areocivic.. the hand operated "throttle stop" when put in place it just holds the throttle for you in one position.
this is kind of what i was thinking. i remember my grandpa telling me about these setups!! LOL

i'll search for bajoos post on this. thanks!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Batman Junior
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1000 Islands, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 20,785

Blackfly - '98 Geo Metro
Team Metro
Last 3: 70.09 mpg (US)

MPGiata - '90 Mazda Miata
Last 3: 51.27 mpg (US)

Winter beater Metro - '00 Chevrolet Metro
90 day: 58.31 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2,638
Thanked 5,544 Times in 2,845 Posts
I have an aftermarket cruise in my car - AudioVox? Didn't need the clutch switch, as it monitors the tach signal (coil wire) and shuts off if it detects a sudden RPM rise.

Unfortunately, it's currently on the fritz and I haven't yet investigated why.

The throttle stop would be more efficient - and potentially less safe.
__________________
Latest mods test: 15 mods = 15% MPG improvement: A-B test, 2007 Honda Civic 1.8L, 5-speed
Ecodriving test:
Manual vs. automatic transmission MPG showdown: Nissan Micra 1.6L



EcoModder
has launched a forum for the efficient new Mitsubishi Mirage
www.MetroMPG.com - fuel efficiency info for Geo Metro owners
www.ForkenSwift.com - electric car conversion on a beer budget
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 11:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
SirKeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 111

GeRide - '89 Geo Metro *XFi
90 day: 54.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i'm having a hell of a time finding the thread covering the throttle stop... can anyone point me in the right direction?

thanks!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Veggiedynamics
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Alexandria, MN
Posts: 684

Volt12 - '12 Chevy Volt base
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirKeats View Post
i'm having a hell of a time finding the thread covering the throttle stop... can anyone point me in the right direction?

thanks!
I don't know if he did a entire thread on it it was in the thread about the areocivic.. he mentioned it and why and then had photo of the setup..
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
There's one in this on-board welder site: http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...er/index.shtml , I've got one in a bin somewhere...

You can shove it closed by pushing on it or turn it to fine tune the throttle setting. Connect it to your throttle with a piece of small chain so your pedal works when this is disengaged.


__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Control (with MPG sensitive logic) guitarterry EcoModding Central 224 05-13-2017 11:10 PM
Cruise control hack/modification? ArtFox DIY / How-to 8 07-06-2015 04:00 PM
Aftermarket Cruise Control homeworkhome53 DIY / How-to 19 12-10-2008 07:07 PM
3 ?'s (SuperMID; cruise control for Metro) Pillzilla EcoModding Central 16 03-31-2008 06:34 AM
TP control? Harpo EcoModding Central 9 03-14-2008 06:54 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com