Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2024, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

First Electric van boat tail

By extreme good fortune and a little guile I I got my hands on the first built from the ground up Electric Van in the US. It's a GM/Brightdrop Zevo 600. I have had it since Sept 23. It's pretty fantastic. 178 kWh battery & AWD. Range is 275 miles in the winter (MN) and 360 summer.

I have been designing my aero tail for 2 years. I bought the aluminum & polycarbonate sheeting today and will start building soon. 2.5:1 slope doors extending 60" behind the body but only 48" behind the step bumper. The Zevo is 84" Wide. My doors should reduce the wake or 'aperture' to 24". Behind that will be roll out plastic 'feathers', eliminating the aperture entirely. Under hard braking the feathers will tilt then tumble back inside the doors. Ideally I will be able to post efficiency numbers later this summer. A 20% decrease in drag would be great!

I invite comments and suggestions.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EcoModder June 21.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	34787  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JohnForde For This Useful Post:
aerohead (06-24-2024), freebeard (06-21-2024)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-21-2024, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 8,686 Times in 7,159 Posts
I would expect convex doors. How do you avoid separation at the break angle at the end of the box van? It might be possible with vortex generators or plasma actuators.

What do you use the van for?

Old 06-21-2024, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

It's just a personal vehicle/ camper van & daily driver.
The van has a 12" plastic cuff with a taper of about 20 degrees..
Attached Thumbnails

Name:	IMG_20240214_100803303.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	45.1 KB