Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2013, 12:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Greetings new friends, Newbie need advise

Allow me to introduce myself. I was an ecomodder before I knew what that was. I drove a Honda CRX HF for 4 years and averaged 60 mpg for city and hwy in central NJ. What a car! My wife made me sell her. Some nonsense about child safety seats bla bla or lack thereof. I offered to spot weld a bracket to strab a baby seat to but she wouldn't go for it. So this IDIOT sells the car to some kid that ended up putting a turbo V-6 in her and blowing it all up at Raceway Park. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. I've been driving a 4X4 Explorer for the last 5 years with a 40 mile total commute and can't take it anymore. Now I can't find another UNMOLESTED HF anywhere. I bought a 99 Ford ZX2.
Not bad, Manual 5sp trans, windows and seats. I plan on converting it to non AC and manual steering. Rerouting a short belt to drive the alt and water pump. I installed 185 75 14 tires increasing the circumference by 6.2%. This car is still screaming on the hwy. I'm turning 2500 rpm @ 58.5 mph. My Honda was at 1850 rpm @ 60 mph. This with a 60 hp engine. If I can get the final drive ratio from 4.1 to 3.4 ( regular escot trans?) I'm hoping to get the rpm's down to 2090 @ 60 mph with my 75a.r. tires. Oh yeah, 45 lb of air in front and 40 lb in rear and ordered a scangauge. Too light in rear to put any more. I'm averaging 37 mpg withut any mods and hoping to crack 45 mpg ave with mods and summer temps. What do you guys think? Is this viable? I'm just doing common sense driving and coasting when it seems evident but not pulsing. Please feel free to comment.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-18-2013, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Dirty330 Modder

CruzeRS - '15 Chevy Cruze LT RS
90 day: 41.29 mpg (US)
Welcome to EM.