Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2016, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Rafiki - '92 Honda Civic hatchback Dx
90 day: 49.67 mpg (US)
How did I get here? Ex-drag racer turned mpg freak

Hey guys,
First off I have to thank all the members on here because I was able to get a lot of good ideas and techniques from this site before I registered as a user.

History- I am 26 years old. I've been a certified mechanic since 2008. I graduated from universal technical institute and have worked for honda and ford up until 2.5 years ago when I decided to open my own shop.
My roots are deep in 92-95 civics. 3 years ago before I started my shop I had a prelude engine swap in my 1992 cx hatchback with a 61mm turbo on it pushing 18psi on pump gas. The car went 10.81 @ 137mph in the 1/4 mile! I tuned it myself on the highway with a wideband and egt gauge. I will attach a picture of that car in here for your viewing pleasure, it's pretty cool!

Anyways, on to the reason I'm here.
About 4 months ago I picked up a 1992 dx hatchback 5 speed for $300 on craiglist. The car was not running, all it ended up needing was the main relay for the fuel pump! After getting the car I updated all the past due maintenance.
Timing belt & water pump, bushings, tires, exhaust, oil pan etc etc.

About 2 weeks ago I decided I was going to drive to Indiana in March. This is were the wheels really started turning and I started trying to come up with ways to improve mileage, my goal is 50mpg on the highway for this trip. The drive will be around 2,300 miles round trip. Realizing that any small gain will pay off pretty big on this trip, I went crazy and took 2-3 days off and did a bunch of mods to the car at once. I really wish I could have done some A-B-A testing, but the gains are there and they're great!