Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2012, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wiki Mod
 
Weather Spotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midland MI, USA
Posts: 2,042

Max - '14 Ford C-Max SEL
Thanks: 228
Thanked 304 Times in 210 Posts
Kia soul kill swich help

I am planning on helping a relative mod is Kia soul to add a kill switch for it.

I found the Fuel injector fuse in the block but its a short min blade fuse and I cannot find a fuse with leads for it. I want to add a NC relay and run a switch into the cab for manual activation as desired.

Any ideas on how to get the fuse terminals into wire leads?

I also can put a relay inline right at the fuel injectors but I would have to do a relay for each one. I prefer to keep the engine bay wires intact if i can.


Here is a diagram I found on the web. If i do the fuse block its killing the bold "2" fuse:
Ideas?

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-19-2012, 06:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wiki Mod
 
Weather Spotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midland MI, USA
Posts: 2,042

Max - '14 Ford C-Max SEL
Thanks: 228
Thanked 304 Times in 210 Posts
I was also thinking about rigging each cylinder's injector to a relay so that I could independently deactivate cylinders, say at highway cruising speed kill off cylinders 2 & 4 in the firing order.

ideas?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 07:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 964

Chief - '06 Pontiac Grand Prix
90 day: 23.13 mpg (US)

SF1 - '12 Ford Fiesta S
90 day: 21.28 mpg (US)
Thanks: 186
Thanked 218 Times in 172 Posts
Might be able to just use some blade connectors. Attach the wires to the blade connectors then epoxy the connectors to a suitable backing material to keep them spaced to fit the fuse block. Or maybe try cutting the top off the fuse and soldering wire to the blades I'm sure the fuse part will open from the heat.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nemo For This Useful Post:
Weather Spotter (08-19-2012)
Old 08-19-2012, 07:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wiki Mod
 
Weather Spotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midland MI, USA
Posts: 2,042

Max - '14 Ford C-Max SEL
Thanks: 228
Thanked 304 Times in 210 Posts
I like the idea of using epoxy to hold the blades at the right distance apart
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Drive less save more
 
ecomodded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,189

Dusty - '98 VOLKSWAGEN Beetle TDI
TEAM VW AUDI Group
90 day: 60.42 mpg (US)
Thanks: 134
Thanked 162 Times in 135 Posts
Wire the switch in just before the fuse panel.
__________________
Save gas
Ride a Mtn bike for errands exercise entertainment and outright fun
__________________



  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 01:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wiki Mod
 
Weather Spotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midland MI, USA
Posts: 2,042

Max - '14 Ford C-Max SEL
Thanks: 228
Thanked 304 Times in 210 Posts
I cannot get to the wires easily before the panel.

I got some parts today, I bought a tap for the min fuses and will soder on some leads. I will add an inline fuse then I can put my relay in. The auto parts store did not carry a SPDT (single poll, duel through) relay by that name so we had to look through a few boxes to find one that would work.

I think I can then just snake a wire pair into the cab for the switch and be fine. this would give me control over the injector power leads. I will see if I can take a few pics as I go.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wiki Mod
 
Weather Spotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midland MI, USA
Posts: 2,042

Max - '14 Ford C-Max SEL
Thanks: 228
Thanked 304 Times in 210 Posts
here is an update:

I wired up the switch and we got it mounted

in the engine bay fuse box:




In the car:
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 03:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Got soul?
 
Soulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Midland, MI, USA
Posts: 35

Soulster - '10 Kia Soul Plus
90 day: 35.36 mpg (US)

100k POS - '01 Dodge Neon
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ohhhhh yeah!

Since my brother installed the kill switch.... 44mpg tank and I just pulled my record high 70.8mpg trip average! Take that EPA average ;p
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soulster View Post
Since my brother installed the kill switch.... 44mpg tank and I just pulled my record high 70.8mpg trip average! Take that EPA average ;p
Are you getting that by turning off cylinders 2 & 4 on the highway or by using the kill switch when stopped or coasting?

Thanks in advance if you respond.

Edit: also, how are you measuring that mpg?

Last edited by hdpb; 10-08-2012 at 02:57 PM.. Reason: Adding second question
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wiki Mod
 
Weather Spotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Midland MI, USA
Posts: 2,042

Max - '14 Ford C-Max SEL
Thanks: 228
Thanked 304 Times in 210 Posts
I hooked it up so all of the cylinders are killed at once. So it's a "normal" kill switch .

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com