Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2008, 08:58 AM   #351 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ˇ
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
That's good news aWillard

Interesting thread NJay, nice to see there are about as many hardware opinions there as here

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-20-2008, 08:59 AM   #352 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
awillard69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 105

Dakota - '00 Dodge Dakota Club Cab, Sport
90 day: 18.57 mpg (US)

Jeep - '01 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sport
90 day: 18.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Code suggestion:

Unless there is a reason not to, I recommend moving the code:
Code:
  #ifdef debuguino  
  Serial.begin(9600);  
  #endif
as the first code executed in the setup() function. In v.63, it's run as the 14 statement in the function.

During my testing I needed to know that my device was running immediately, so I made it the first thing that runs.

On a side note, many, many posts back I offered a suggestion that eliminating the C++ portions of the code may contribute to a smaller compiled size. Well, I did a rewrite, eliminating all the object code (using structs and functions) and found that the compiler does a good job of simplifying the code - my code was within a few bytes! So, nothing saved.

I did encounter an issue in that the arduino v0011a software has no obvious provisions (that I could find) for sending extra parameters (ie switches) to the compiler. I found that out when I was trying to code a try...catch block while debugging, the exceptions code is not enabled by default and must include a compiler switch to activate. Assuming the developers have sent all the relevant optimization parameters, adding more parameters may lead to a bloat of the compiled objects.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 09:22 AM   #353 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ˇ
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
Ok, I updated .63 with the serial move, don't tell anyone
Maybe a Serial.println("YOPPP!!!") would be an appropriate kind of thing to do right after the Serial.begin.

Also, thanks for answering the class question also
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:10 AM   #354 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
awillard69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 105

Dakota - '00 Dodge Dakota Club Cab, Sport
90 day: 18.57 mpg (US)

Jeep - '01 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sport
90 day: 18.46 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Oh, yes... when I was debugging I had all sorts of Serial.Println( ... ) statements scattered all through the code. Perhaps something after the start of serial communications would make it look nice, but it's only for debugging anyway.

__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 09:38 AM   #355 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ˇ
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dba View Post
I have a scope, actually several.
Hi Dean, my scope purchase deal fell through , I sent you a PM about your offer here.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 12:26 AM   #356 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1

Da Sled - '97 Chevrolet Caviler
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have '97 Chevy Caviler, and have already ordered the LCD and other thingy... any quick suggestions for the build/install pertaining to my particular model of car?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 12:28 AM   #357 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010
 
SVOboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hanover, NH
Posts: 6,427

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 92
Thanked 113 Times in 82 Posts
Send a message via AIM to SVOboy Send a message via MSN to SVOboy Send a message via Yahoo to SVOboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb View Post
6/23/2008
updates for v0.64

Fixed instant/tank screen (was displaying instant/current on that screen).

Improved LCD reinit on reprogram/reset. Can (usually) tell if LCD needs reinitializing. Press left and right buttons to force an LCD init if necessary. Want to free pin 15 for future tasks if it works well enough.

Added a bit of default verbiage to debug mode.

Working on a portable scope deal.

6/20/2008
updates for v0.63
Wrote 64bit arithmetic routines, yay no more messing with "ifs" when it should be math!

Noticed double vss count didn't make it in .62, fixed.

Subtracting 500uS from each injector pulse.

Added cli/sei around top of loop trip copy.

Made big font a smidgeon bolder.

Code updated, sketch size 9812, CPU 54%, free mem 602

Previous updates
I'm so excited to get my stuff in the mail and put this together,
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 09:22 AM   #358 (permalink)
OBDuino coder
 
Magister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montrťal, QC
Posts: 212

Titine - '13 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Anybody saw the xarias project? I didn't see it mentionned here, take a look:

http://code.google.com/p/xarias/

All the code is here, it uses an AtMEGA32 and use the speed/injector signal, there is open hardware schematics and all

__________________
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 09:59 AM   #359 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ˇ
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
Yah, saw it.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 12:29 PM   #360 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
top_down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 10

Beater - '93 Geo Metro XFi
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dcb, great work on this! I've just gotten mine working and will be wiring it into a Metro XFi today or tomorrow.

Question about the LCD power... I saw an earlier post that I need to wire this into constant power. Is there a way with the current electronics to bring in a switched 12v lead and have the lcd power (or at least the backlight) turn off when the car is off?


Last edited by top_down; 06-26-2008 at 12:44 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My kingdom for a giant, heated workspace MetroMPG The Lounge 14 12-12-2010 09:08 AM
Motorcycle manufacturers beginning to release MPG info MetroMPG Motorcycles / Scooters 1 04-03-2008 05:23 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com