Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2016, 01:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Cannonball - '97 Nissan Sentra GXE
Team Nissan
90 day: 32.95 mpg (US)
New to the site and to Ecomodding!

Hey everyone,
I am a newbie to this whole ecomod lifestyle. So anything or any advice I appreciate. I bought a 98 Honda DX Hatchback a few months back because I drive 110-112 miles a day 6-7 days a week.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 05-19-2016, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Novice

Josie - '87 Toyota Pickup
90 day: 40.02 mpg (US)

Felicia - '09 Toyota Prius Base
90 day: 49.62 mpg (US)
Welcome.

The usual wipe-your-feet-at-the-door stuff:

65 proven mods

Hypermiling tips

When you first get started, the biggest bang for the buck - because no bucks are actually spent - is from "adjusting the nut behind the wheel." Now that you are actually thinking about driving in such a way as to maximize your fuel economy, you will see opportunities that weren't realized as opportunities before. They weren't opportunities because there were no goals to associate them with; now there are and you can see them.

Schedule pretty reliable? Leave five minutes earlier, drive five miles per hour slower, save five miles per gallon. Your mileage, as they say, may vary.

Long downhills on modest routes? Shift to neutral and roll. Stop sign at the top of a hill? Coast to it.

One thing that appears to be a common trait among hypermilers is that our brakes tend to last a long time. Having built up that kinetic energy by burning fuel, we're loath to throw it away as waste heat in the brakes.

Another Civic in the garage!

Lead or follow. Either is fine.
Old 05-24-2016, 02:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Cyborg ECU

Black and Green - '98 Honda Civic DX Coupe
Team Honda
90 day: 66.42 mpg (US)

Black and Red - '00 Nashbar Custom built eBike
90 day: 3671.43 mpg (US)