Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2012, 08:07 PM   #5581 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: alaska
Posts: 141
Thanks: 10
Thanked 32 Times in 18 Posts
oh that sounds perfect. the rev limit right now waits for one second after it hits the limit, and then cuts the power for 1 second, and then re-applies power at whatever the throttle is telling it. so if you floor it in neutral it speeds up more during the one second of power than it slows down durnign the second of no power...and it keeps going faster and faster until it explodes (oops)
can't wait to get it back so i can fix the software haha

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 03-18-2012, 10:28 PM   #5582 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
jackbauer,

I'm curious.... how are you going to configure Paul's controller to work on a SepEx motor? Do you just have another smaller controller to handle the field?

Thanks....
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:31 PM   #5583 (permalink)
EV Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7

unknown - '95 Ford Windstar
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by MPaulHolmes View Post
I added the push-pull feature in the software so that if a couple pins stop going high and low at 16kHz, the hardware will disable the mosfet driver, since that would most likely happen if the microcontroller crashes. It was just a single line of code that's required to run at 16kHz, so it eats up almost no processing power. I was going to add a "microcontroller_crashed_fault in the code", until I realized, the micro wouldn't know if the micro crashed! hahaha.

I also added programmable max current. the variable is called max-current. haha. You can input anything you want in the range 0-9999 real life amps. That means if you set it to 120, full throttle will be 120 amps. I double checked all the pins to make sure everything is good.

The controller is 99.9% done:

It's 6 isolated supplies, so 6 separate pwm signals that all have their own shielded twisted pair (with ground) cable going right to the input of the respective optocoupler.

I think someone was asking about the schematics. I'll post everything once it's all working. The wiki is seriously jacked up right now though. It's been taken over by a weird spam-bot.

I've got an updated schematic and layout that removes the VERY EXPENSIVE DC-DC converter (like almost $18) which feeds the inputs to the 6 line filters, and replaces it with a homemade DC-DC based on the very popular MC34063A

The careful observer will note that it costs like $0.63 cents. hahaha. The rest of the nick-nacks you need to make it work are another $2-$3 or so.
Thats a very nice looking unit, thanks for all your hard work

What size is the completed unit going to be?
I was looking for a case to put the controller in
what size is the boards and bus bar your using?
What is the max output volts going to be?

thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 05:59 AM   #5584 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
Yeh a small power stage (say 50A) is used to control the field power. With Paul's 6 output board this would be very easy. Hint ,Hint , wink , wink
__________________
Now, Cole, when you shift the gear and that little needle on the ammeter goes into the red and reads 2000 Amps, that's bad.
www.evbmw.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:49 AM   #5585 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
JB,

I was thinking you might use one of those. Are you still going to stay with IGBTs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:02 AM   #5586 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
yep igbts.
__________________
Now, Cole, when you shift the gear and that little needle on the ammeter goes into the red and reads 2000 Amps, that's bad.
www.evbmw.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:16 AM   #5587 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,826

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,365
Thanked 1,110 Times in 729 Posts
The 6 pwm outputs aren't independent of each other though. I mean the duty is the same for all 6.
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 11:54 AM   #5588 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,826

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,365
Thanked 1,110 Times in 729 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by okie00 View Post
What size is the completed unit going to be?
I was looking for a case to put the controller in
what size is the boards and bus bar your using?
What is the max output volts going to be?
Hello! The power board is 11.7 x 6 I think. I'm sure about the 11.7 part. I'm at school watching the students take their Final right now. man I'm glad I'm not in school. The base plate is hmm Maybe 13" long and 8" wide? I'm pretty sure, and 3.5" tall I think. bus bars stick out like 1" I think. max voltage is 144.

I've got a sample 400v diode but it only has one really wide leg and I don't know how to put slots in the board. I wouldn't mind figuring that out. That would let me up the voltage some, since good mosfets can be had up to 300v.

edit: forgot bus bars- 1" x 0.25" x 14" I think bus bars. Not sure about length at the moment. 13" or 14". and B- is 3/4" x 3/8" x LENGTH, where length is "I forgot" haha
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:00 PM   #5589 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpaulholmes View Post
the 6 pwm outputs aren't independent of each other though. I mean the duty is the same for all 6.
doh!
__________________
Now, Cole, when you shift the gear and that little needle on the ammeter goes into the red and reads 2000 Amps, that's bad.
www.evbmw.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 03:00 PM   #5590 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,826

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,365
Thanked 1,110 Times in 729 Posts
But I just finished the AC control board which has 6 independent pwm outputs! hahaha. Just use that one, but with different code.

__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 3457 10-03-2019 05:50 PM
Paul & Sabrina's Cheap EV Conversion MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 542 11-12-2016 10:09 PM
Three Dirt Cheap DIY Electric Cars - Part 5 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 0 12-12-2008 05:10 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com