Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2013, 01:59 PM   #5961 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 23
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MPaulHolmes View Post
That's a good point. The controller will cut out if throttle goes out of range, or if 5v power or 12v power drops out of range.
Paul, I just got called out of town on an emergency, so I can't post the screenshot of the software, nor can I test the power to the throttle.
I'll do both once I get back.
Thanks!

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 01-17-2013, 03:56 PM   #5962 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,832

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,368
Thanked 1,119 Times in 734 Posts
We just now got the 5 cubic yards of cement poured and leveled for the shop. PHEW!! That was a job. My wife was a huge help, dragging the 2x4 across to level it. Then I'll have a place to put the mill. Hurray!
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:28 PM   #5963 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 23
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm attaching a file of a screenshot of RTD Explorer when I slowly accelerate and then loose all power. I take my foot off the accelerator when the van stops moving forward, that's why you see everything just DROP.
@227-228 is where the power drops, but my foot is still on the accelerator and a second later between 228-229 is where I take my foot off the accelerator.
Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1-17-2013 4.13.24 PM.png
Views:	59
Size:	17.7 KB
ID:	12269  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:47 PM   #5964 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 17 Times in 8 Posts
Do you have a BMS that may be interacting with the control system (changing throttle signal or opening a contactor or something like that)?

It appears that when you say you lose power, PWM spikes from less than 20% to maxed at 100%. At the same time your current drops rapidly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:18 PM   #5965 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 23
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64jeep View Post
Do you have a BMS that may be interacting with the control system (changing throttle signal or opening a contactor or something like that)?
Nothing fancy, just 10 individual voltmeters attached to each pair of batteries.
Also an ammeter on the battery pack. V meters and A meter have been attached for at least 100 miles without any problem, I don't see why they would start something weird now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:28 PM   #5966 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 23
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Here's another screenshot of two episodes. The first (2085) one I kept my foot on the accelerator longer (about 2 or 3 seconds) to make it clearer. The 2nd episode I started slowly accelerating @2094, the power went out and I tried feathering it back so it would "power up" again. You can see where I lost power at 2100, got it back, and lost it again between 2101 and 2102.
I should note that this whole time I'm in my driveway, with the emergency brake on a bit to keep me from moving far before I create the episodes. I can really only be in 1st and reverse. In 2nd, too much is being asked of the bus and it cuts out almost immediately. Normally, though, I drive in 2nd 95% of the time in the city where I rarely go above 40 mph
I really appreciate the help. I'd be lost without it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1-17-2013 4.44.12 PM.png
Views:	46
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	12270  
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:35 PM   #5967 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 66
Thanks: 12
Thanked 26 Times in 21 Posts
Could you post screenshot of 'controller settings' area of rtdexplorer?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:00 PM   #5968 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 23
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by z_power View Post
Could you post screenshot of 'controller settings' area of rtdexplorer?
Sure.
Um... how do I do that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:55 PM   #5969 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 66
Thanks: 12
Thanked 26 Times in 21 Posts
hm, IIRC if you type "config" in RTD you'll get list of all parameters, then use PrntScrn key to capture screenshot to your clipboard...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:37 AM   #5970 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cali
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by z_power View Post
hm, IIRC if you type "config" in RTD you'll get list of all parameters, then use PrntScrn key to capture screenshot to your clipboard...
;P better yet alt+PrntScrn will let you capture only the window in focus. (XD A random chime in, but hey, handy hotkeys are handy)

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 3473 Today 12:01 PM
Paul & Sabrina's Cheap EV Conversion MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 542 11-12-2016 09:09 PM
Three Dirt Cheap DIY Electric Cars - Part 5 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 0 12-12-2008 04:10 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com