Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2014, 12:47 AM   #31 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
P-hack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,408

awesomer - '04 Toyota prius
Thanks: 102
Thanked 252 Times in 204 Posts
too many projects (and microcontroller manufacturers), got a three phase controller kit to assemble (through hole BTW), and a motorcycle to convert to EV. Plus developing a distributed and cheap BMS, still need to sort out a cost effective charger. The gas stuff is gonna have to wait, though I could do a custom ECU on my 95 civic without worrying too much about the environ police, maybe, someday.

Oh, one other point about through-hole, breadboards. I imagine if the EE guys did all the design they might not think about the end users of a kit much. They probably just say "hey joe, make this pcb for me and throw it in the reflux oven" everyday. Or they send it to the in-house bot.

Someday everyone will probably have to go all SMD, but not this day

Oh, btw, for something like a vehicle with all kinds of kookie sensors and controls, cypress has some interesting offerings, it is sort-of FPGA(called psoc), but gobs of op-amps/comparators/logic gates/com etc surrounding an M3 core, with up to 62 20 bit ADC (4 in parallel). I know you are going the modular route (which is another kit detractor, did I buy all the right stuff?), but with PSoc I would think the number of external components could really be trivial, and modules become firmware/configuration with enough spare drivers on the mainboard. It isn't as communication intense as that stm, but who needs ethernet in a moving car? It does have can/usb/etc, and lots of "real world" interfacing options that might be better suited to the task at hand though. Just fyi, I don't know how much of a PITA they are to configure or anything, but glancing the datasheet is interesting.

Apparently you have to roll your own btoa though But I'm not sure adding an operating system is the better option either


Last edited by P-hack; 04-10-2014 at 01:00 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 07-11-2014, 04:45 PM   #32 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
rusefi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
New fancier board:

  Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 05:22 AM   #33 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: holland (europe)
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
make more mileage with an ECU

Nice plan a DIY ECU.Maybe you could test some fuel saving tips with it like controlling the water temperature with it and mapping out the fuel enrichments due to accelerating and load.
For that you'd have to take out the thermostat , replace it with a valve controlled by a servo and temperature sensor connected to the ECU.
Please read my post on the foolish burning of gasoline
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 10:21 PM   #34 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
rusefi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
have not posted in a while, this project is still quite alive



  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 07:22 PM   #35 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pine Plains, ny
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rusefi View Post
That's MS-2 then, 2005 design. It is 2014 here in Chicago.

MS-2: 24 MHz, 4 kB
rusEfi: 168MHz, 192kB

While you can run an engine even on 8MHz, the extra speed and RAM makes the source code much easier to modify & extend, it's just a different level of comfort for software developers.
Any update on this? I've been running MS/2 Extra in my 1988 BMW 325iX for about four years now. I built it from parts and put it in the original ecu case.
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to barbierij For This Useful Post:
rusefi (03-23-2017)
Old 03-23-2017, 07:44 PM   #36 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
rusefi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by barbierij View Post
Any update on this?
We had version 1.0 release recently! One of the users has put a 8 hours continues road trip on this and we've decided it means realibility.



Now working on a nicer more convinient packaging - want SD card accessible without taking the case apart. So short answer - still playing this this, I believe it's quite useable now.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:12 PM   #37 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pine Plains, ny
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
and you use TunerStudio to tune?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 08:14 PM   #38 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
rusefi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
yep, TunerStudio to tune

__________________
http://rusefi.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com