Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2022, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Righteous Imaginarian

Champrius v3.2 - '09 Toyota Prius
90 day: 58.73 mpg (US)
Arrow Smaller Ecomods have better Return On Investment

Howdy!

I'm the creator and owner of Champrius, the Champion Camping Prius. I'm a mathematician by training and am interested in bringing various aeromods and ecomods mainstream. I've participated in three successful startups, and did business consulting for many years.

I have seen lots of quality data about the fuel economy increases gained by various mods. But there is much less data about their economic impact on the owner, which is one of the compelling value propositions for many decision makers. Some people want to save the planet, and some want to save their wallet.

Let me give a concrete example. When I first bought my car Champrius, she got 39 MPG. I spent $600+ dollars and 4 hrs+ of time getting her a tune-up and new tires, which increased mpg to 42, or ~ +7% increase. When I did grille blocking, I spent $20 and 30 minutes of time to get an equivalent outcome (actually slightly better). Presented in that way, it's a no brainer to do the ecomod. It's cheaper and faster. And as a product pitch, to be able to say: "Buy this $40 widget and you'll save $20/10K miles driven" is also a no brainer purchase decision.

Moreover, there is also long term revenue. There's a notion in business called Return On Investment (ROI). That's how long it takes a money saving improvement to payback the initial amount it cost; the cost / ROI is the rate at which it generates "extra" revenue (assuming zero maintenance). As such, I've not only tracked the FE improvements for the various ecomods but also their ROI.