Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2008, 03:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
nut
 
Coyote X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southen West Virginia
Posts: 654

Metro XFi - '93 Geo Metro XFi Convertible
90 day: 62.17 mpg (US)

DR650SE - '07 Suzuki DR650SE
90 day: 55.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 26 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Coyote X
I say a voltmeter and vacuum gauge.

The scangauge can show vacuum but nothing like a mechanical analog gauge though. A vacuum gauge can show a lot more than economy. If there are any engine problems you can usually see them in the vacuum gauge well before they are noticeable from engine vibrations or noises.

And a voltmeter is handy to have in general.

__________________


  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 05-15-2008, 03:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ˙
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 267 Times in 210 Posts
It isn't necessarily what you are looking for, but here is a computerized mpg gauge on an analog tach. It probably won't work out of the box but it might give you some more ideas:
http://www.circuitcellar.com/avr2004...05abstract.pdf
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 12:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ashEVILle, NC
Posts: 35

Beater Deluxe v2.0 - '89 Honda Civic DX
90 day: 44.68 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to Joseph Davis
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyGrey View Post
Using a wideband to lean out your mixture involves setting the gauge or driving unit to produce a 0-5 linear AFR voltage. This voltage must be fed to a switching circuit that produces 0v when the input voltage is above a certain threshold and 0.9v when the input voltage is below a certain threshold. In effect, you're deciding at what ratio you tell the ECU it's running lean or rich. The result is you train the ECU around a ratio of your liking.
The Innovate Motorsports LC-1 can be calibrated to output a custom 0-1 volt signal, as can other units on the market. It is much easier to buy an inexpensive feature rich wideband and then pointy-clicky the desired output with a computer than it is to build an op-amp circuit and correctly tweak it to work as you wish.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyGrey View Post
Though I cruise as lean as 18:1:1, I find that 16.2:1 produces the best economy for my vehicle.
Makes sense, combustion pressures fall way off in the 17:1 or higher range.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 01:49 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 303

Pushrod - '02 Chevrolet Cavalier
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
The Innovate Motorsports LC-1 can be calibrated to output a custom 0-1 volt signal, as can other units on the market. It is much easier to buy an inexpensive feature rich wideband and then pointy-clicky the desired output with a computer than it is to build an op-amp circuit and correctly tweak it to work as you wish.
Hey, great find! I just recommended this to a friend on another forum who wants to lean out his car. However, there's no pointy-clicky for me because none of my computers run windows. My unit only has one transistor in it, no opamps, and it's more like knobby-turny.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 09:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
tasdrouille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mirabel, QC
Posts: 1,672

The Guzzler - '08 Hyundai Elantra GL
90 day: 33.12 mpg (US)

Got Soul? - '11 Kia Soul 2U
Thanks: 35
Thanked 85 Times in 56 Posts
SG can do AFR accurately on unaltered o2s signals.

My Elantra have 2 o2s, and the factory pre cat one is a wide band. Your Yaris being a very recent car, it might have one too.

I get the AFR in an XGauge with the following:

TXD:07E00124
RXF:044145240000
RXD:2810
MTH:05BE80120000

SG can do a lot more than we think.
__________________



www.HyperKilometreur.com - Quand chaque goutte compte...

Last edited by tasdrouille; 05-18-2008 at 11:41 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 10:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
Depends on the Day
 
RH77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kansas City Area
Posts: 1,761

Teggy - '98 Acura Integra LS
Sports Cars
90 day: 32.74 mpg (US)

IMA - '10 Honda Insight EX
Team Honda
90 day: 34.76 mpg (US)

Tessie - '06 Acura TSX Base
90 day: 28.2 mpg (US)
Thanks: 31
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
I'm late to the party here...

To fill the pods...

Based on my turbo cars of the past, I had an Oil Temperature Gauge (not sure if there's a sending unit on the Yaris). If you ever affix a grill block or undertray, it might be good info to know the Oil Temp. Oil Pressure is also a good gauge.

Outside Temperature might be a good one...

Otherwise, vacuum, voltmeter, a digital timer, or a custom gauge of sorts could be installed.

I miss the days when the average car came with more than just a tach, speedo, fuel, and temp gauges. I forget the car I drove once, but it had a speedo on one side, and a huge gas gauge on the other. The rest were idiot lights. I like to know what's going on in analog format -- I too crave gauges...

RH77
__________________
“If we knew what we were doing, it wouldn't be called research” ― Albert Einstein

_
_
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
MP$
 
diesel_john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 594
Thanks: 5
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Send a message via MSN to diesel_john
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyGrey View Post
Using a wideband to lean out your mixture involves setting the gauge or driving unit to produce a 0-5 linear AFR voltage. This voltage must be fed to a switching circuit that produces 0v when the input voltage is above a certain threshold and 0.9v when the input voltage is below a certain threshold. In effect, you're deciding at what ratio you tell the ECU it's running lean or rich. The result is you train the ECU around a ratio of your liking. Though I cruise as lean as 18:1:1, I find that 16.2:1 produces the best economy for my vehicle.
Joesph Davis quote,
The Innovate Motorsports LC-1 can be calibrated to output a custom 0-1 volt signal, as can other units on the market. It is much easier to buy an inexpensive feature rich wideband and then pointy-clicky the desired output with a computer than it is to build an op-amp circuit and correctly tweak it to work as you wish.


Now i understand this was the missing link in my thinking, i didn't get how the ECU could understand the signal from the Wide band. Thanks, guys

Do any of you gentlemen have any affiliation with the products mentioned so far in this thread?

Last edited by diesel_john; 05-18-2008 at 12:36 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 04:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mito, Japan
Posts: 106

The Move - '99 Daihatsu Move Aero Down Custom XX
90 day: 29.89 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to Dust
Anyone else offer opinions on the ammeter vs. volt gauge. I am looking at a boost gauge, and I was wondering if I should go AF and volt, AF and ammeter, or volt and ammeter.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 02:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
ttoyoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: boston ma
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Amps absolutely, and here is why.

Eventually, the battery will start to fail. Often, it will fail by shorting out one cell out of the 6. That means it is now a nominal 10 volt battery instead of a nominal 12 volt battery, BUT the fully charged voltage might be 11.8 or 11.9 so you will not notice it on the voltmeter.

When the battery cell fails, the alternator is going to try REAL hard to charge the battery, and it is going to be doing it ALL the time. The end result, as I have found out in 3 (footnote 1) cars, is that the stator winding in the alternator will overheat, the insulation on it will break down, and it will short. You will then need to get a new stator winding from wai-wetherill and rebuild the alternator.
http://www.wai-wetherill.com/products/ymm.cfm
(They dont have the parts for a yaris alternator yet, too new, but they have all the little itty bitty internal parts for all the older toyota alternators and starters. I look up my part number and then phone my order in to the distributor in Boston Massachusetts :
Boston Auto Electric
103 Clayton St.
Boston, MA 02122
Toll Free: 1-800-225-6650)

Put the ampmeter into the alternator output wire so you will know about this event BEFORE it becomes fatal problem.



(footnote 1: Experience is the second time you make the same mistake. I have no excuse for the third event. )
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ttoyoda For This Useful Post:
raquatrac (08-17-2009)
Old 06-03-2008, 02:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
ttoyoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: boston ma
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I should add that a low speed accident, or bumping a wall or jersy barrier, or a crackhead at the gas station backing into your car, will make a battery cell fail, I guess the impact breaks off one of the battery plates and it falls off and shorts things out.


Last edited by ttoyoda; 06-03-2008 at 02:34 PM.. Reason: found 2 spelling errors so grevious even I could see them.
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Tags
ammeter, amp gauge, gauges, volt gauge, voltmeter

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any one seen these DIY gauges? 123 Instrumentation 20 05-27-2010 12:33 AM
Stock Temperature Gauges jcantara Instrumentation 24 05-27-2010 12:26 AM
OBD-II port (how to run 2 gauges on one port) thebrad Instrumentation 14 04-09-2008 12:10 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com