Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2010, 05:04 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 7,223 Times in 4,650 Posts
fastback

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazInMT View Post
Here is a basic line drawing of the FastBack AeroCap I'm thinking to build.

I've been enjoying mine since 2004,I think you'll like your's!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 01-13-2010, 10:09 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Just read your Post.

ChazInMT,

Just read you post on the aerocap you were thinking about building. Your sketch is very good and I know how it is when you have a good idea and just don't have the time to build it. Believe me, I also know how it is to travel long distances in your work. An aerocap would save you alot on fuel.

Back to your sketch. It reminds me alot of one a friend of mine designed several years ago. He lives here in Little Rock and is in the aircraft design biz. Your sketch looks alot like his design which I always thought was pretty cool. I scanned the rendering he did and post it now.

Good luck with building your cap and if I can lend any advice on the build, just PM me and I'll be glad to help if I can. It is great to see such an interest in aerocaps and I have a great deal of respect for anyone who has built or plans to build their own aerocap.

Bondo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SCAN0001.JPG
Views:	263
Size:	59.5 KB
ID:	5354  
Old 01-14-2010, 07:40 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

The Red Baron - '00 Ford F-350 XLT
90 day: 27.99 mpg (US)

Impala Phase Zero - '96 Chevrolet Impala SS
90 day: 21.03 mpg (US)
ChazInMT:

Your drawing looks a lot like my fairing.
Rubber Conveyor Belt Air Dam
Old 01-18-2010, 05:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Aero Deshi

MagMetalCivic - '04 Honda Civic Sedan EX
Last 3: 34.25 mpg (US)
What to use for Shrink Wrap?