Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2010, 04:42 PM   #581 (permalink)
OBDuino coder
 
Magister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montréal, QC
Posts: 212

Titine - '13 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
thanks I'll take a look, with the "#define debug" enabled I didn't see a prob, I'll double check.

__________________
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-31-2010, 04:44 PM   #582 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 11

Miata - '05 Mazda MX-5

Gixxer - '07 Suzuki GSX-R 750
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I edited my last post a little about the refresh rate i talked about earlier, don't know if you saw that...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 05:04 PM   #583 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 11

Miata - '05 Mazda MX-5

Gixxer - '07 Suzuki GSX-R 750
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Weird... I reflashed the software again (missed the line that shows the version during startup) and the l/100 character was fine again...

One of those things I guess...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 08:15 AM   #584 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 11

Miata - '05 Mazda MX-5

Gixxer - '07 Suzuki GSX-R 750
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry about spamming the topic.

I'm still having problems with the reinit. The device doesn't start the reinit process when restarting the car, for some reason. Is there a good way to debug this?

I'm going to try my obduino on someone else's car just to be sure that the problem is my car, not my bad soldering skills...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 09:04 AM   #585 (permalink)
OBDuino coder
 
Magister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montréal, QC
Posts: 212

Titine - '13 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
I do not have an ISO car so I don't know why the re-init does not work

About the refresh rate, when your screen displays fuel consumption, cost, etc, it does not ask for any particular PID, only the internal accu_trip() asks for rpm/speed/throttle/maf/fuel_status and what you display does not involve asking for PID, so the system asks 5 PIDs per "cycle".
When you want to display information like speed, rpm, or any others PIDs, the system has to ask for it, and on a ISO system it's slow... so if you display 4"real" PIDs instead of 4 "fake" PIDs (like fuel consumption, distance, etc), the system has to ask the 5 regular PIDs + your 4, so 9 PIDs in a cycle, hence the slowness...

One work around would be to "cache" the values read by accu_trip() like rpm or speed so when you want to display them, the system would not re-ask the ECU the value but use the one in cache. But if you display others PIDs you will have the same slow refresh rate.
__________________
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 05:03 AM   #586 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked 21 Times in 15 Posts
yes, ISO is slow But acceptable

6bytes request (3header, 2payload, 1crc) = 4.6ms (10400speed limit)

10ms delay after each byte in Obduino32K code (function iso_write_byte). 6x10 = 60ms

ECU responds after 25ms

response is 7-10 bytes (avg 8bytes) = 6.2ms

Mandatory delay before next request 55ms

so we have 151ms in total, or 6.6pids/sec physical limit.
+ Obduino32K code is also working + LCD commands are also not so fast.

edit:
Tested PID_SEC pid in my car - and i get 7, so calculations looks good

edit:
according to
http://www.koch-engineering.com/file...ISO14230-2.pdf page 7
there should be at least 5ms delay before each byte. it would be no big increase, but still - increase 6.6p/s -> 8.2p/s

Last edited by eimix; 09-02-2010 at 05:26 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:49 AM   #587 (permalink)
OBDuino coder
 
Magister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montréal, QC
Posts: 212

Titine - '13 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
What could be done to make the display faster, is to disable the DCFO detection. Anyway if you never see 0.00L/100 or 999MPG when you coast and your car does not support DFCO, each cycle you could save the 2 PIDs for fuel status and throttle position. With this you could have almost 2 refresh per second instead of 1.
__________________
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:57 AM   #588 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 11

Miata - '05 Mazda MX-5

Gixxer - '07 Suzuki GSX-R 750
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magister View Post
What could be done to make the display faster, is to disable the DCFO detection. Anyway if you never see 0.00L/100 or 999MPG when you coast and your car does not support DFCO, each cycle you could save the 2 PIDs for fuel status and throttle position. With this you could have almost 2 refresh per second instead of 1.
Caching the pids seems like a good idea. The refresh rate, when not showing actual pids is almost okay atm... around half a second. The other interesting pids I'd like to watch sometimes, are the same that are used in fuel calculations anyways. Throttle position, rpm and speed.
As my car supports DFCO, I'd like to keep that. Altho a setting in the config to disable it would probably be nice.

Regarding DFCO... My car does support it, but when the rpm drops so low that the car starts injecting fuel again to keep the engine running, the display still shows 0,00L/100. A bug in the software or an anomaly with my car?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:01 AM   #589 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked 21 Times in 15 Posts
I tested my proposed way - and i got an increased refresh rate (25%), and everything works fine (for VW jetta at least).

In define section add (after //#define ISO_14230_slow)

Code:
// Define delay between ISO request bytes (min 5ms, max 20ms) slower is faster refresh rate. By default 10ms.
// 5ms gives 8.2pids/s, 10ms gives 6.6pids/s
// On VW MK4 5ms works fine
#define ISORequestByteDelay 5
Replace delay(10); with delay(ISORequestByteDelay);

Code:
void iso_write_byte(byte b)
{
  serial_rx_off();
  Serial.print(b);
  delay(ISORequestByteDelay);  // ISO requires 5-20 ms delay between bytes.
  serial_rx_on();
}
If lowest allowed value does not work - you should increase it
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:02 AM   #590 (permalink)
OBDuino coder
 
Magister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montréal, QC
Posts: 212

Titine - '13 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3ph View Post
Regarding DFCO... My car does support it, but when the rpm drops so low that the car starts injecting fuel again to keep the engine running, the display still shows 0,00L/100. A bug in the software or an anomaly with my car?
It does the same thing with my 07 Elantra, when I coast to a stop, it displays 0.00L/100 but I can feel at a certain time that fuel restarted to flow but it takes a few seconds for the ECU to change the fuel status.
It's not a software bug nor an anomaly with the car, it works like this... It could be detected I think by checking the O2 sensor voltage but it would make one more PID to check every cycle.

__________________
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Tags
obd2



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPGuino release one workspace dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 1061 01-17-2020 01:37 AM
Just some quick info on Scangauge vs. MPGuino NoCO2 OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 06-01-2015 04:58 PM
All New Nissan Models to Feature Fuel Efficiency Gauge MetroMPG General Efficiency Discussion 6 11-18-2008 04:57 PM
Vacuum gauge problems :( DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 3 05-14-2008 11:04 PM
Will Scan Gauge work on mine? bennelson Instrumentation 9 02-19-2008 10:04 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com