Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2010, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

6th Gen Coupe - '02 Honda Accord EX 4 cyl
90 day: 28.01 mpg (US)

Zombie Accord - '98 Honda Accord EX
90 day: 24.71 mpg (US)

Ol' Red - '96 Ford F-150 XL
90 day: 14.43 mpg (US)
Possible fuel related problem, potentially hurting FE

I've got a new car that I've been driving for a couple of months. It's a 1998 Pontiac Grand Am GT. It has 105k miles, and is a 5 speed. When I first start the car, if I don't let it warm up for a decent bit of time (4 or 5 minutes at least) it will hesitate when given gas, or just not respond (almost died on me once). If I just let the car warm up, it usually will drive fine. But I don't always have time to let it warm up for that long, and it didn't do this when I first got the car about 7k miles ago. I tried running Seafoam through it, and I think that helped for a few days.

I assume it could be a number of fuel related things, so I was hoping you guys could narrow it down for me.

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 05-25-2010, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
so if you drive off "cold" it will still "hesitate" after it is warmed up?

Or it will "hesitate" only while it is still "cold" and then acts normally?
Old 05-25-2010, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

The latter. It always runs fine once it gets warmed up, but sometimes even 5 minutes of idle isn't sufficient. Also, if I give it gas while it is warming up, it will start to idle rougher. I usually just crank it, let it sit for a bit and then go. It still requires this type of warming up, even if it's 90 degrees outside.
Old 05-25-2010, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell

what is the idle speed cold vs hot?