Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2010, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Anybody familiar with 220 wiring?

I need to wire a socket on the outside of my house for an EV charger. 20 amps at 220 volts. From what I have gathered, I need to run 12-3 gauge wire through a 20 amp ganged breaker to a weather proof box with a weather-proof -at-all-times cover. My hang-up here is code states that circuits that may come in contact with moisture must be GFCI protected. Does this apply to 220 volt?

~Jimbo

__________________


Quote:
Hehehe... If one of your facial lacerations leaves a small scar, you'll have a SCarlett.
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 02-07-2010, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderate your Moderation.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Troy, Pa.
Posts: 8,919

Pasta - '96 Volkswagen Passat TDi
90 day: 45.22 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1,369
Thanked 430 Times in 353 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oval_Overload View Post
I need to wire a socket on the outside of my house for an EV charger. 20 amps at 220 volts. From what I have gathered, I need to run 12-3 gauge wire through a 20 amp ganged breaker to a weather proof box with a weather-proof -at-all-times cover. My hang-up here is code states that circuits that may come in contact with moisture must be GFCI protected. Does this apply to 220 volt?

~Jimbo
Technically, you'll have to have it inspected anyway... why not ask the code inspector?

Usually, you can get a hold of your local code enforcement and ask these types of questions, and they're more than happy to answer over the phone. Construction/updating codes will be different for people who don't live in your state/county/town.

Around here, we use the PA UCC, but some local towns have rejected it, and have their own construction/installation code that is above and beyond the Universal Construction Code.
__________________
"ʞɐǝɹɟ ɐ ǝɹ,noʎ uǝɥʍ 'ʇı ʇ,usı 'ʎlǝuol s,ʇı"

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
home of the odd vehicles
 
rmay635703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere in WI
Posts: 3,332

Silver - '10 Chevy Cobalt XFE
Thanks: 351
Thanked 666 Times in 498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oval_Overload View Post
20 amps at 220 volts. From what I have gathered, I need to run 12-3 gauge wire through a 20 amp ganged breaker to a weather proof box with a weather-proof -at-all-times cover.
~Jimbo
Um you do mean 3 12guage wires, right? 20amps isn't exactly that demanding. 220v is non-standard in the US but generally there are 3 wire and 4 wire setups 2 hot in opposing polarities (opposing phase) 1 ground and 1 earth ground.

As for the breaker it isn't that complex if your box already "has" 220v somewhere, in our house just needed to lock an overpriced breaker on an unused bus bar in the existing box and rig appropriate wires off. We have a master shut off so it wasn't tough and not hard to wire.

And Unless you want to pay an electrician, do what my father did (who was an electrician), keep the outlet inside of the garage and have an extension cord to the ev. No sense wasting effort on getting something certified and having that expense and pain, unless you really want to do that? And use water proof stuff in the garage even though you don't need it, just good practice and not expensive if you are doing it yourself.

And yes you generally need ground fault crap which can be challenging to locate locally. (still not bad practice though to have and you can wire a GFI in with a non GFI 220 outlet to have GFI protection just not as good of practice)

Cheers
Ryan
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rmay635703 For This Useful Post:
Oval_Overload (02-07-2010)
Old 02-07-2010, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
why not ask the code inspector?
What?! Talk to The Man?!

Actually, that is a good idea. I'll do that.
__________________


Quote:
Hehehe... If one of your facial lacerations leaves a small scar, you'll have a SCarlett.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
keep the outlet inside of the garage and have an extension cord to the ev.
Ah... you have located the source of my troubles. The garage is wired to one 120 volt circuit. Surely illegal, but it came that way.

The EV cord will reach half way to the deck, so my plan is to fab an extension cord (already have the parts) and mount a weatherproof box on the deck. I'd probably run a 120 VAC line, too, because there are no outdoor sockets on the house and I like to show movies on the side of the garage.

Plan 'B' is to replace the little basement window with plywood allowing me to run a cord into the basement. The window is under the deck anyway, so it is useless, and the load center is right there.

Plan 'C' is to reconfigure the garage wiring. There are two wires leading to the garage. one feeds the scooter-charging outlet and garage door. The other is fed from the same breaker but is switched in the kitchen, and in the garage. These are wired in series, not 3-way, and control the lights. If one of the wires is 12-2, I can reconfigure it to 220 service and feed the 120 service from the other wire, locking the kitchen switch 'on' (or not... so I can screw with Kal when he's working on his cars)

~Jim
__________________


Quote:
Hehehe... If one of your facial lacerations leaves a small scar, you'll have a SCarlett.

Last edited by Oval_Overload; 02-07-2010 at 07:30 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
home of the odd vehicles
 
rmay635703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere in WI
Posts: 3,332

Silver - '10 Chevy Cobalt XFE
Thanks: 351
Thanked 666 Times in 498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oval_Overload View Post
Ah... you have located the source of my troubles. The garage is wired to one 120 volt circuit. Surely illegal, If one of the wires is 12-3, I can reconfigure it to 220 service and feed the 120 service from the other wire, locking the kitchen switch 'on' (or not... so I can screw with Kal when he's working on his cars)

~Jim
No don't do that, that would be fine if the wires were colored correctly and it wasn't in a place that ever would see anyone else potentially messing with it. But I know darn well if I see a green wire I might touch it. Plus you never know where the earth ground ends up even if you disconnect it from the garage and wire to the AC-neutral wire.

Effectively what you would be doing is removing all the AC110 neural wires, moving ground to neutral and using the neutral as opposite phase AC for the 220. That could have shocking consequences if your ground wires contact anything they shouldn't on the way to your earth ground. Also none of your 120 or 220 appliances would have an earth ground unless you wire one in.

Cheers
Ryan
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
OOPS... I ment to say 12-2 in all my previous posts
Ryan, when I say there are two wires leading to the garage, I mean there are literally two separate runs of romex. Two hots, two neutrals, and two grounds. I have no idea why it was done this way... a single run of 3 conductor wire would have accomplished the hot/switched combo easier.
__________________


Quote:
Hehehe... If one of your facial lacerations leaves a small scar, you'll have a SCarlett.

Last edited by Oval_Overload; 02-08-2010 at 02:42 AM.. Reason: spelling
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 01:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 3,904

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
Thanks: 867
Thanked 433 Times in 353 Posts
RV's tend to have 220v plugs out doors that are not GFI, I'm not sure how they get by with this but they do, it seems to be pretty common too, I would simply go in to an electrical contractor supply house and ask them what the proper way is.
There are also GFI breakers for swimming pools.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 12:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
home of the odd vehicles
 
rmay635703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somewhere in WI
Posts: 3,332

Silver - '10 Chevy Cobalt XFE
Thanks: 351
Thanked 666 Times in 498 Posts
Ah in that case what you could do is take
1. shut off power
2. Disconnect the two sets of wire from the box
3. Check for continuity between the two sets of wire (occasionally somebody just wanted double current capability and wired them together somewhere)
4. Wire one run of "HOTs" to the red reverse phase AC110 then by grabbing a set of wires from each run of wire at the end you could make up AC220 out of two 110v outlets.

The only issue with the above scenario is that if any electronic equipment gets plugged into opposing phase current and another piece of electronic equipment gets plugged into the other phase and you attempt to attach the two in some way you get kablooew

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oval_Overload View Post
OOPS... I ment to say 12-2 in all my previous posts
Ryan, when I say there are two wires leading to the garage, I mean there are literally two separate runs of romex. Two hots, two neutrals, and two grounds. I have no idea why it was done this way... a single run of 3 conductor wire would have accomplished the hot/switched combo easier.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 3,904

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
Thanks: 867
Thanked 433 Times in 353 Posts
Hubbell makes a 220v GFCI that can handle up to 30 amps call the Circuit Guard, it came to me while I was at work, standing in a pool of water about to turn on a the saw that we use for cutting granite, it's a 220 volt motor on a 20 amp breaker and right on the saw is a GFCI in a weather tight box, the whole set up is designed to be washed down and I've never had the GFCI trip but I have tripped the breaker by pushing the 18" blade to hard in to a slab of stone.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Tags
220, battery, charger, evs

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Cali Civic VX to Fed (lean burn) VX NachtRitter DIY / How-to 83 06-20-2015 12:30 PM
rant -why is my wiring soooo hard work? modmonster OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 5 01-27-2009 08:13 PM
Fancy kill switch wiring extragoode EcoModding Central 2 10-15-2008 02:14 AM
VX shift light wiring? SVOboy EcoModding Central 5 07-03-2008 01:33 AM
DIY - Wire Tuck SVOboy DIY / How-to 4 01-25-2008 03:14 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com