Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Off-Topic > The Lounge
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2020, 10:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
I connected my laptop to the 43" television last week to plan activities for new clients and I couldn't use my keyboard with my desktop afterward. I bought a new keyboard, but couldn't find the old one, so I used the new one with my laptop, and then neither keyboard worked with my desktop!
I tried most of the 8 USB ports!
The Num Lock light was on, but when I tried to find help online everything was about Num Lock and the numeric keypad. I removed that part and everything required me using Windows!
How do you log in without a keyboard?!
With the on-screen keyboard, of course!
Once I was logged in I tried to use each keyboard and noticed some kind of error tone each time that I hit a key. I searched for that and it said to disable Filter Keys.
That did it!
Who turned on Filter Keys?!

__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-31-2020, 10:47 PM   #22 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecky View Post
What do you mean by "Four drivers have errors that I was unable to fix" ?
This:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Four bad drivers.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	29073  
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 11:05 PM   #23 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
Once I gained access to my desktop I went to install Memory Test 86 and Windows Diagnostics on the 8GB flash drive, but Lenovo's site doesn't have a download link for their recovery utility. I looked up how to restore and again found vague references about my Novo button. Apparently there is a tiny recessed button next to my ports on the right side. It looks like I need to shut down again, push the button, and reinstall Windows.

What is the worst that can happen?!
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 11:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
Oh. Hey. Before I go, I figured Lenovo must have included something with Windows, so I started looking at everything named Lenovo. Nerve has a turbo button for my fans!

I found a Lenovo Diagnostics Windows, which said that Lappy failed.

It says that it or I canceled the Microphone Interactive Test.
The PS/2 keyboard test returned a warning. I don't have a PS/2 port!
Somehow my trackball failed the Press Precision Test. It told me to single-click, double-click, and then repeat. However, my touchpad did not respond, so I turned on my trackball. Then it showed a torus and had me move the mouse cursor around it, staying inside the lines.

Somehow I am terrible both with this trackball and my desktop's mouse.

I am worse with the touchpad!

Then it seemed to repeat the torus test, but my mouse cursor disappeared. When I moved it enough it showed up on my second monitor.

Eventually it timed out.

I do not know what the deal is, but as you can see, there are two bad drivers for my trackball. For some reason dragging and dropping rarely works. I am absolutely holding the buttons for the entire second or two that it takes, but it acts like I released and then clicked again.

These are new batteries!

That was "HID-compliant mouse." Then it shows "Synaptics Pointing Device." The first two passed, then it says that it failed the Press Precision Test, and declares that it is defective.

Then for the SSD Device Read Test, three tests for on-board graphics, three tests for the GeForce GTX 1060 with Max-Q Design, two tests for ethernet, and three tests for wifi it says "Test aborted because a system event that could compromise the outcome has happened."
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 02:52 AM   #25 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
To use system restore you must specify which Windows installation to restore. Restart this computer, sele

I need to buy a USB 3 flash drive for my desktop. It took forever to create my recovery drive. Now I get this error when I try to restore Windows. When I told it to troubleshoot startup it says:
Quote:
Your PC/Device needs to be repaired.
The Boot Configuration Data file doesn't contain valid information for an operating system.
File:\Boot\BCD
Error code: 0xc0000098

You'll need to use recovery tools. If you don't have any installation media (like a disc or USB device), contact your PC administrator/Device manufacturer.
I cannot turn it off, it just goes to sleep!

You know how laptops with batteries that you cannot remove have pinhole buttons to restart them? Lenovo calls that the Novo button, except there isn't a button there, just a hole!

Quote:
Default Boot Device Missing or Boot Failed.
Insert Recovery Media and Hit any key.
Then Select Boot Manager to choose a new Boot Device or to Boot Recovery Media.
Except it only tries to boot off of the network.

I guess that I need to figure out how to do that.
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4

Last edited by Xist; 09-01-2020 at 03:03 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 05:47 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Stubby79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,304

Firefly EV - '98 Pontiac Firefly EV
90 day: 107.65 mpg (US)

Little Boy Blue - '05 Toyota Echo
90 day: 33.35 mpg (US)

BlueZ - '19 Nissan 370Z Sport
90 day: 17.19 mpg (US)
Thanks: 43
Thanked 386 Times in 290 Posts
You know...with nothing to go on but your posts...it seems you manage to break everything you touch!

Just an observation. Keep on truckin'!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 01:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
Thalmaturge
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The edge of nowhere
Posts: 919

Go Pod - '00 Honda Insight AC

The Tinyvan - '07 Honda Fit Sport

Spicy Italian - '13 Fiat 500 Abarth
Thanks: 453
Thanked 493 Times in 325 Posts
You should be able to download a recovery image from Lenovo:

https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/ht103653
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 01:43 PM   #28 (permalink)
EcoModding Newb
 
redpoint5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,048

Acura TSX - '06 Acura TSX
90 day: 26.38 mpg (US)

Lafawnda - '01 Honda CBR600 F4i
90 day: 47.32 mpg (US)

Big Yeller - '98 Dodge Ram 2500 base
90 day: 21.82 mpg (US)

Prius Plug-in - '12 Toyota Prius Plug-in
90 day: 57.64 mpg (US)

Mazda CX-5 - '17 Mazda CX-5 Touring
90 day: 28.8 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2,678
Thanked 3,153 Times in 2,347 Posts
I've decided to never buy a USB flash drive again.

Now I'm using an SD card to USB 3 device. SD cards are so cheap these days that I'd rather just use those than have a collection of flash drives. It maximizes versatility since I can still use the SD cards in cameras, laptops, dashcams, or anything that takes 'em.



I bought a plastic "wallet" for holding SD and microSD cards so they don't wander off.
__________________
Gas and Electric Vehicle Cost of Ownership Calculator







Give me absolute safety, or give me death!
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint5 For This Useful Post:
freebeard (09-01-2020)
Old 09-01-2020, 02:32 PM   #29 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
Hey Stubby, can I borrow your car--and your computer?

Sam, should I return the hard drives to their rightful computer first?

Red, I do not have any idea how many years ago I last used an SD card. I think that I only use flash drives a couple of times a year.

Walmart sells a two-back of 32 GB USB 3.0 flash drives for $18. I am going to create recovery disks for each computer.
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2020, 06:09 AM   #30 (permalink)
Not Doug
 
Xist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Show Low, AZ
Posts: 9,779

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 31.32 mpg (US)
Thanks: 6,594
Thanked 1,871 Times in 1,421 Posts
Unexpected Store Exception

I woke up Lappy and was greeted by this:

I don't know that the desktop hard drive and Windows installation were good, but they never gave me this error, so they are good enough!

That probably leaves the RAM, right?

Tom's Hardware: How To Fix Unexpected Store Exception Error In Windows 10 says:

1. Fix Corrupt System Files with Reimage Plus. Aww! You guys don't like me downloading stuff! Is there a way to do this with Windows?

How would the same files be corrupted on both installations, but only affect the laptop?

It still sounds like hardware to me.

Edit! I can hardly find any positive reviews of this program. I would stay away!

2. Revert to Windows Defender.

Those two steps are supposed to minimize further crashes, but if necessary:

3. Disable Automated Driver Installation and manually reinstall the audio driver.

Well, Reimage has been at 70 - 80% for the entire time that I wrote this. I am leaving it running while I lose consciousness.

That's where I'm a pirate!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Unexpected Store Exception.png
Views:	31
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	29081  
__________________
"Oh if you use math, reason, and logic you will be hated."--OilPan4

Last edited by Xist; 09-02-2020 at 08:10 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com