Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2009, 10:58 PM   #821 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts USA
Posts: 84

Ziggy - '95 Audi S6 Sedan

Manfred - '97 Audi A6 Quattro Sedan
90 day: 20.61 mpg (US)

Clarabell - '03 Audi A4 Quattro Avant

Sherman - '98 Audi A6 Quattro Avant

Cab - '96 Audi Cabriolet
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yes. I have swapped FALLING/RISING to RISING/FALLING on the external interrupt pins. That solved the problem of GPH going up when stepping on the accelerator. I have not tried tapping the injector. I'll try that this weekend to confirm that the Fundamental Logic MPGuino is working properly.

Thanks for the info that the ECU flat line when coasting probably won't be handled correctly. At least I know I've got to dig deeper into the code. I'm beginning to get a feel for it.

I use a Scope program that I downloaded from the Web. And I capture images of the Scope display with Paint Shop Pro. That allows me to capture many successive images of just the display by just pressing the right mouse button.

I tapped between a couple of resistors (input-->100K--tap--10K-->ground) to drop the input signal down to a reasonable level for the laptop sound card input.

It works really well at the frequencies we're dealing with here. Try it. You'll like it.

Here's the URL: Oscilloscope for the Soundcard




  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 02-11-2009, 11:56 PM   #822 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
americasfuture2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: edmond, ok
Posts: 118

SLOLANE - '08 Chevy (Daewoo) Aveo5 SV
90 day: 30.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
lol messege, that was a typo

whoa, i just looked into that soundcard oscillicope, and that seems to be something very useful to me. one thing i couldnt find from some glancing around on google, its what is the max safe voltage to use? im paranoid about frying my laptop or my audigy sound card.
__________________
If you cant fix it with a hammer, then you have an electrical problem



http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3159589


shutup, im working on it

Last edited by americasfuture2k; 02-12-2009 at 12:07 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 06:14 AM   #823 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccomiskie View Post
Yes. I have swapped FALLING/RISING to RISING/FALLING on the external interrupt pins. That solved the problem of GPH going up when stepping on the accelerator....
Ok, please do try the injector tap, but you might have to undo the FALLING/RISING change, i.e. just use the standard codebase.

I think your pictures might be upside down? (based solely on the above comment).
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 08:48 AM   #824 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts USA
Posts: 84

Ziggy - '95 Audi S6 Sedan

Manfred - '97 Audi A6 Quattro Sedan
90 day: 20.61 mpg (US)

Clarabell - '03 Audi A4 Quattro Avant

Sherman - '98 Audi A6 Quattro Avant

Cab - '96 Audi Cabriolet
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb View Post
Ok, please do try the injector tap, but you might have to undo the FALLING/RISING change, i.e. just use the standard codebase.

I think your pictures might be upside down? (based solely on the above comment).
I'm running this code:

Code:
//  attachInterrupt(0, processInjOpen, FALLING);      //for positive going signal
//  attachInterrupt(1, processInjClosed, RISING);
  attachInterrupt(0, processInjOpen, RISING);      //for negative going signal
  attachInterrupt(1, processInjClosed, FALLING);
The signals are all relative to chassis ground so they should be right side up. I thought it odd that your original code was FALLING/RISING but I just reversed them and it works. I'll rig an injector tap this weekend and see how it behaves.

Quote:
whoa, i just looked into that soundcard oscillicope, and that seems to be something very useful to me. one thing i couldnt find from some glancing around on google, its what is the max safe voltage to use? im paranoid about frying my laptop or my audigy sound card.
I've found that a max of 1.0-1.5V is safe. Since my car runs about 14V, when I use the 100K/10K resistors, the max voltage I'd expect at the sound card input is 1.27V. I've never had a problem with this setup.

If you're really paranoid, you could build this Buffer Hardware for xoscope to buffer the input and allow adjustability. I've got the parts. One of these days, in my free time, I'll get around to it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 12:09 AM   #825 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
americasfuture2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: edmond, ok
Posts: 118

SLOLANE - '08 Chevy (Daewoo) Aveo5 SV
90 day: 30.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
what do i need to change to make the greeting message show up longer?
__________________
If you cant fix it with a hammer, then you have an electrical problem



http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3159589


shutup, im working on it
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 07:54 AM   #826 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
you should only see the greeting message when you first plug it in, so what is the deal?
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 12:54 PM   #827 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
americasfuture2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: edmond, ok
Posts: 118

SLOLANE - '08 Chevy (Daewoo) Aveo5 SV
90 day: 30.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
since i changed the greeting, i would like it to stay on for about 2 or 3 seconds, whichever feels right when watching it.
__________________
If you cant fix it with a hammer, then you have an electrical problem



http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3159589


shutup, im working on it
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 06:02 PM   #828 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts USA
Posts: 84

Ziggy - '95 Audi S6 Sedan

Manfred - '97 Audi A6 Quattro Sedan
90 day: 20.61 mpg (US)

Clarabell - '03 Audi A4 Quattro Avant

Sherman - '98 Audi A6 Quattro Avant

Cab - '96 Audi Cabriolet
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I finally tapped the injector signal instead of the ECU signal. The MPGuino seems to be working normally. Importantly, when coasting, the GPH displays reasonable values, i.e. it drops to a very low rate as it should. I'll keep this setup for a while and dial in the uSec per gallon number.

So, my original complaint, that the GPH jumped to a very high rate when coasting, appears to be related to using the ECU signal for fuel flow and reversing the injector open/closed pins to handle the negative signal.

I'd still like to use the ECU signal. I know now that the MPGuino is working correctly and that I'll have to dig into the code to resolve the issues.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 08:32 PM   #829 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccomiskie View Post
I'd still like to use the ECU signal. I know now that the MPGuino is working correctly and that I'll have to dig into the code to resolve the issues.
I'd be very interested to hear if you find a way to use the ECU fuel consumption signal. I'd like to adapt the MPGuino to a VW Passat TDI which has no injector signal available (it's a rotary pump injection system), but it does have an ECU fuel consumption signal similar to yours.

Good luck and keep us posted!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 08:58 PM   #830 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetimus View Post
but it does have an ECU fuel consumption signal similar to yours.
Huh, well, hmm. Another possible option for the TDI's then.

Problem really is trying to figure out exactly what that audi signal means. if it could drive the interrupt, that would be best, but peak value might come into play where you have to integrate the entire pulse via polling or somesuch.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My kingdom for a giant, heated workspace MetroMPG The Lounge 14 12-12-2010 09:08 AM
Motorcycle manufacturers beginning to release MPG info MetroMPG Motorcycles / Scooters 1 04-03-2008 05:23 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com