Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2010, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

New Features for MPGuino?

I've been thinking about adding data logging - perhaps a 24LC128 Serial EEPROM (16 Kbytes), but there is still the problem of attaching a laptop to the official preassembled MPGuino (which has no provision for it).

Also, I have a uLCD-32PT from 4dsystems.com.au (US$79) which I'm just beginning to play with for another project. It is verrry interesting with a touch-screen LCD, integrated microSD card, and it's own processor and software library - not Arduino, unfortunately, but let's not quibble?

A quick glance at the uLCD-32PT specs doesn't convince me that it can replace the Atmega for timing/counting/etc - so the idea is to add I2C slave capability to the MPGuino, with the uLCD-32PT as I2C master taking care of display+data logging. If this is done, a new MPGuino layout is called for, eliminating the matrix LCD - and adding more digital inputs to monitor more engine signals?

I'm lousy at UI design, if someone would design a nice 240x320 layout for MPGuino and post it here, it would be fantastic.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 11-03-2010, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Left Lane Ecodriver

Prius C - '12 Toyota Prius C
I probably can't help you with development, but I'm interested in this idea. I'd love a low-cost datalogger, and the most interesting data already passes through the MPGuino.
Old 11-03-2010, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dartmouth 2010

Vegan Powa! - '91 Honda CRX DX
Team Honda
90 day: 66.52 mpg (US)
Send a message via AIM to SVOboy Send a message via MSN to SVOboy Send a message via Yahoo to SVOboy
Like Mr. Smalls, I can't do much to help you out on development, but this is definitely an idea I can get behind
Old 11-10-2010, 03:22 AM   #4 (permalink)