Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2012, 12:00 AM   #5471 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 14
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fantastic. Thanks Adam!

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 02-17-2012, 10:10 AM   #5472 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
We had some unexpected costs come up with our daughter in Kenya and that has postponed the new controller. It was supposed to be for Ben, but a guy that lives right near me sent me some money to make him a prototype, so I figured, heck! I'll get that sucker built and move on from there.

The AC controller code is rapidly approaching completion. This time I derived each formula one at a time and programmed that in. So, I know for sure that each step is correct. Before, I was trying to take the Microchip code and converter it to my use. When you don't understand what the heck you are typing, it's sort of hard to debug. haha. The AC driver board has 2 driver boards. The high side board is nearly identical to the future DC mosfet high side driver that I want to try. The low side is nearly identical to the current mosfet low side driver board.

Here's a picture of the mosfet driver board. It's populated in the garage right now, but it's cold out there!
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MPaulHolmes For This Useful Post:
LouMan (02-18-2012), sawickm (02-18-2012)
Old 02-17-2012, 02:51 PM   #5473 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
dave koller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Posts: 137
Thanks: 32
Thanked 35 Times in 21 Posts
Hmmm nice Paul - BUT - (lol) how close to the cut line are those top holes? All my board houses would scream at me about that... Having not used designspark I wondered....
__________________
Dave ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 09:29 PM   #5474 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
haha ya it's close alright! They haven't complained though. Heck, you don't even need the top holes. It's just there in case you want a film cap or 2 added, since they are B+. In the AC case, I don't bother with them since I'm only using film caps.
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:07 AM   #5475 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hey Jack,
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackbauer View Post
Next the hardware. Following the attached photo
You can run Protel on Ubuntu??? Wine?

JR
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 11:53 AM   #5476 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 41
Thanks: 23
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Adam,

In your RTD Explorer video, where did you get the USB to RS232 converter? Did you build it or buy one ready made? I searched Google and came up with several versions, either already built or DIY kits/schematics, but most claim that you can not truly replicate the RS232 with just two lines from the USB.

It obviously works with yours or you wouldn't be able to program the controler. Would you point me in the right direction please?

Thanks,

Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 12:05 PM   #5477 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
Hi Jim! I got mine at circuit city. I've never had any trouble with it. Fran had included some delays in the code to allow for the serial to usb hardware. I think at first there were issues.
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MPaulHolmes For This Useful Post:
electricstorm (02-20-2012), Electroddy (10-22-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 03:01 PM   #5478 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Charlton MA, USA
Posts: 463

EVVette - '71 Chevy Corvette Coupe
Thanks: 31
Thanked 172 Times in 92 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricstorm View Post
Adam,

In your RTD Explorer video, where did you get the USB to RS232 converter? Did you build it or buy one ready made? I searched Google and came up with several versions, either already built or DIY kits/schematics, but most claim that you can not truly replicate the RS232 with just two lines from the USB.

It obviously works with yours or you wouldn't be able to program the controler. Would you point me in the right direction please?

Thanks,

Jim
Hello Jim,

Here is the adapter I use.

Digi-Key - 768-1023-ND (Manufacturer - EVAL232R)

I have never once had trouble with it. Ive tested quite a few and this is the best one yet. Good price too, Doesn't come with a cable though. Just USB type A to Type B.

-Adam
__________________
www.EVVette.com - 1971 Corvette Coupe Conversion to all Electric!
www.AdamBrunette.com - Machining, CNC, Robotics and Electronics.

You can download RTD Explorer for the Cougar controllers at www.EVVette.com
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to adamj12b For This Useful Post:
electricstorm (02-20-2012)
Old 02-20-2012, 12:40 AM   #5479 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: alaska
Posts: 141
Thanks: 10
Thanked 32 Times in 18 Posts
check it out Paul!

this is your control board i got from you like a year ago. between me and adam, we got it set up, and i built an enclosure for it. and now it's running on a 12V pack of lead acid, running my snowmachine! adam said i have to change the voltage cutoff limit before it will work with my traction pack, but he's asleep right now. enclosure pictures to follow in a few minutes


  Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to isaac_alaska For This Useful Post:
LouMan (02-21-2012), MPaulHolmes (02-20-2012), sawickm (02-20-2012)
Old 02-20-2012, 12:49 AM   #5480 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
Holy crap that's awesome!! Does Adam have the original code? I can modify it if you need me to. I think I lost it on my computer. I had some half-baked idea to have "max voltage" for some stupid reason, since I was trying to show off the fact that it had voltage monitoring. If I saw the code, I could figure out what to change. He was chatting with me about it on gmail and I couldn't remember some of the details without the code in front of me.

What are you using for a current sensor?

__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 3471 06-01-2020 11:53 PM
Paul & Sabrina's Cheap EV Conversion MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 542 11-12-2016 10:09 PM
Three Dirt Cheap DIY Electric Cars - Part 5 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 0 12-12-2008 05:10 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com