Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2012, 01:55 PM   #5851 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have another question about the pre-charge connection. After the pre-set time I get the 12volts between the +12v and middle terminal of J1. However when I attach a relay it won't pull down. I eliminated all wiring thinking the resistance was too high and jumpered directly to a small pcb mountable relay. Still no luck. Anybody have any ideas?
Thank,
Dan

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-23-2012, 04:25 PM   #5852 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,832

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,368
Thanked 1,119 Times in 734 Posts
Well that's weird... Was it a 12v relay? I've tested it with an EV200 and a schrack pcb relay. What's the voltage from the middle of J1 to the bottom of J1 when the relay is attached?
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:33 PM   #5853 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Weird is right. The relay is 5volt rated up to 28v. Works fine when i attach it directly to a 12v battery. When I hook it up the middle and bottom of J1 the voltage drops from 12.8 to 1.5 volt and the relay doesn't latch.
I'm stumped!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:12 PM   #5854 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Some more data. I measured the amps the relay draws when connected to the battery. Comes out to 180ma. Did the same thing when connected to the controller. I got a reading of 30 ma. So it seems the controller isn't putting out enough amps to latch a relay. Does anyone know what amperage should be coming out of the controller?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 12:46 PM   #5855 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hell
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Somebody, who knows the hex fault bit values could tell me what is 02?
Couldn't find any cross reference, just fault code names and a few binary values, none of them are hex 02...

Cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 08:07 PM   #5856 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,832

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,368
Thanked 1,119 Times in 734 Posts
02 is the vref fault. That means that either the current sensor is unplugged, or maybe the wires are soldered in the wrong holes, or it's a bad current sensor, or some weird 4th option I can't think of.

crossdan, are you sure about the orientation of the Q1? Could you take a picture of that part of the board?
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MPaulHolmes For This Useful Post:
zsnemeth (09-25-2012)
Old 09-25-2012, 09:11 PM   #5857 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here are the pics of the board.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0819.JPG
Views:	96
Size:	144.0 KB
ID:	11560   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0820.JPG
Views:	70
Size:	138.7 KB
ID:	11561  
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 06:41 PM   #5858 (permalink)
PLUGnGO
 
jedsmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Olympia Wa
Posts: 132
Thanks: 73
Thanked 75 Times in 52 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crossdan View Post
Weird is right. The relay is 5volt rated up to 28v. Works fine when i attach it directly to a 12v battery. When I hook it up the middle and bottom of J1 the voltage drops from 12.8 to 1.5 volt and the relay doesn't latch.
I'm stumped!
Hi CrossDan
Have you fixed it yet?

If not,
Looking at the schematic I think the relay should connect between pins 2 and 3 of J1 (Contactor and ground) rather than middle and bottom as you state above (contactor and throttle pot)?

Jerald
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:11 PM   #5859 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Jerald,
No, I haven't fixed it yet. Connecting to pins 2 & 3 doesn't give any voltage.
I can think of a few workarounds so I'll mull it over while I install the controller in the car and do some tests.
Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:19 PM   #5860 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,832

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,368
Thanked 1,119 Times in 734 Posts
It sounds like the P channel mosfet isn't working right, or it's got a really high resistance while on for some reason. I'm going to build the circuit and see what's going on. I'm sorry about this!

__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 3475 Yesterday 10:09 AM
Paul & Sabrina's Cheap EV Conversion MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 542 11-12-2016 09:09 PM
Three Dirt Cheap DIY Electric Cars - Part 5 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 0 12-12-2008 04:10 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com