Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2014, 10:55 PM   #6821 (permalink)
PLUGnGO
 
jedsmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Olympia Wa
Posts: 131
Thanks: 73
Thanked 75 Times in 52 Posts
The the new hall effect PB-6 throttle box clone has arrived from China. I have installed it on the truck and made the wiring changes to the controller board.

It came without a datasheet of any kind so I had to wire it by trial and error. If anyone else buys one of the ones off eBay the wiring for mine was:
+5v - Blue wire
Signal - Black wire
Ground - Brown wire

Measured voltages are:
Zero Throttle +0.20 volts
Throttle contactor closes +0.20 volts
Max throttle +3.95 volts

There is a small flat area at the low end before voltage starts climbing which is why 'zero throttle' and 'contactor closes' voltages are the same.

Paul
Please send me some spread spectrum code
Thanks
Jerald

  Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jedsmd For This Useful Post:
Astro (08-15-2014), MPaulHolmes (08-14-2014), thingstodo (08-15-2014)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-15-2014, 12:07 AM   #6822 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
OK, so, I'll make a 7% deadzone? That would mean:

0.07*(3.95v-0.2v) + 0.2v will be zero throttle. And that would mean
0.4625v is zero throttle, and 3.95v is max throttle. And that means 0.4625v*1024/5v ticks of the A/D is zero throttle, and 3.95v*1024/5v ticks of the A/D is max throttle. So, 95 ticks is zero throttle. And 808.96 -> 808 ticks is max throttle. (We should probably round down so max throttle can be achieved)

Now, if the throttle gets disconnected, there's a 4.7k pull-down resistor, that will pull the throttle to 0v. So, let's have 0.05v be the fault point? Any reading below that is BAD. If the throttle goes below 0.05v for longer than 0.2sec, it will flag a throttle fault. At the moment, there's no clearing a throttle fault. You have to turn the power off, and back on again. I must now go do the arduous task of typing in 95 and 808. It could take hours. haha. BRB...
__________________
kits and boards

Last edited by MPaulHolmes; 08-15-2014 at 10:13 AM..
  Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MPaulHolmes For This Useful Post:
Astro (08-15-2014), jedsmd (08-15-2014)
Old 08-15-2014, 10:10 AM   #6823 (permalink)
Dreamer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 350
Thanks: 95
Thanked 210 Times in 150 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedsmd View Post
The the new hall effect PB-6 throttle box clone has arrived from China. I have installed it on the truck and made the wiring changes to the controller board.

It came without a datasheet of any kind so I had to wire it by trial and error. If anyone else buys one of the ones off eBay the wiring for mine was:
+5v - Blue wire
Signal - Black wire
Ground - Brown wire
On the eBay listing they say:
Wiring:
Blue: +5V
White: Hall signal (0-5V output)
Brown: 0V / ground

So at least two of the three colours match reality.
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Astro For This Useful Post:
jedsmd (08-15-2014)
Old 08-15-2014, 04:59 PM   #6824 (permalink)
PLUGnGO
 
jedsmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Olympia Wa
Posts: 131
Thanks: 73
Thanked 75 Times in 52 Posts
Hall effect throttle installed and working. Very nice to drive. I think I was abusing the controller with the previous noisy pot, it is much happier now.
Jerald
  Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jedsmd For This Useful Post:
MPaulHolmes (08-15-2014), thingstodo (08-15-2014)
Old 08-15-2014, 05:06 PM   #6825 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
PHEW!!!!! I am so glad the jumpiness wasn't some other weird thing.
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:32 PM   #6826 (permalink)
EV Connoisseur
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 309
Thanks: 70
Thanked 107 Times in 89 Posts
Mounted the raspberry inside the controller and connected it:
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to flores For This Useful Post:
thingstodo (08-16-2014)
Old 08-16-2014, 05:27 PM   #6827 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
I'm sorry, but that is awesome!!!!
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 06:53 AM   #6828 (permalink)
EV Connoisseur
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 309
Thanks: 70
Thanked 107 Times in 89 Posts
If you think that is awesome.. look at this..



Just twisting the throttle..
  Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to flores For This Useful Post:
Astro (08-17-2014), MPaulHolmes (08-17-2014), z_power (08-17-2014)
Old 08-17-2014, 06:55 AM   #6829 (permalink)
EV Connoisseur
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 309
Thanks: 70
Thanked 107 Times in 89 Posts
Now I only need to finish my settings editor and then it's going back into the car..
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 09:21 AM   #6830 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,831

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,367
Thanked 1,115 Times in 730 Posts
Holy cow!!!! I have so many questions. I don't know what to ask first. I don't really get what the raspberry pi is. Did you write an RTD sort of program in some language and flash the microcontroller on the raspberry pi? What language is it? How is the raspberry pi outputting graphics to a computer?

I used to make video games, and would love to figure that thing out and mess around with it. (Even just separate from the controller. It seems like you can do a ton of things with it). What development environment are you using?

__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 3471 06-01-2020 10:53 PM
Paul & Sabrina's Cheap EV Conversion MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 542 11-12-2016 09:09 PM
Three Dirt Cheap DIY Electric Cars - Part 5 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 0 12-12-2008 04:10 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com