Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2009, 08:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 157
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
Also, don't hit me for saying this, but you should only get a speed/mpg reading if the car is moving.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-03-2009, 09:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was using a t now i am directly connected to the vss. or what claims tobe the vss per my owners manual. I get a c reading now and have corrected the engine wires from faulty cut out. where can i troubleshoot this thing next. I do get continuity to the vss from the mpguino.

Thanks,
Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 157
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
You have tried driving around a bit then?
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yes I have driven around a bit. I have taken it for 2 test runs 5 miles each. I do not have a speedometer reading and all of the mpg readings are showing zeros. Is there any settings on the setup I should compare?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:45 AM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
also I still have a check engine light showing ,if that is an indicater of any mishaps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 157
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
Well fuel is the critical one, so that is good progress. Can you figure out what code is set with that light, and what the computer is trying to tell you?
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't have anything to read the codes on my computer. This MPGuiNO gauge is the 1st and only read I have for the car.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 157
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
google for 1993 metro code , you will probably have to jumper something and watch the blinky check engine light or something. Teamswift.net probably has something on it too. Could be the injector circuit wasn't happy or something is up with the vss circuit wiring now. dunno, ask your cars computer
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
any ideas why MPguino is still not reading the vss?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:50 AM   #20 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
somebody else had an issue with a vss in a metro on this forum and said something about needing voltage applied to the vss on a 93 metro to get a read. I just don't understand what needs to be done. Or how to do it. I am all new to this.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restoring a 1989 Geo Metro IheartGeos Introductions 18 02-22-2010 01:00 AM
93 Geo Metro timing belt check? ncsteve EcoModding Central 0 05-09-2009 10:52 AM
My 1989 Geo Metro Story owlafaye Introductions 2 10-05-2008 06:31 PM
'93 Geo Metro EOC question Newton Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed 9 09-19-2008 03:11 PM
Geo metro 93 vss and injector leads GeoGreg OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 09-13-2008 06:45 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com